140 members of 14th Kerala assembly

140 members of 14th Kerala assembly to be sworn-in on Thursday

Thiruvananthapuram, June 1 (IANS) All is set for the opening session of the 14th Kerala assembly, which will see 140 legislators being sworn-in on the first day on Thursday by pro-tem speaker S. Sarma.

The first session will extend over two days, with the news members being sworn-in on Thursday.


The speaker would be elected on Friday. As things stand now, the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) has named two-time legislator P. Sreeramakrishnan as its candidate while the opposition Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) is yet to announce its pick.

In the May 16 assembly poll, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M)-led LDF swept the polls by winning 91 seats, with the UDF ending up with 47.

CPI-M leader Pinarayi Vijayan, 72, was sworn in along with 18 cabinet ministers on May 25 by Kerala Governor P. Sathasivam.

The polls also saw the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) opening its account with former Union Minister and veteran O. Rajagopal, 86, winning the Nemom seat in the state capital, defeating two-time legislator V. Sivankutty of the CPI-M.

Six-time legislator P.C. George, who in the past was with the LDF and UDF, this time won the polls as an independent candidate.

Incidentally, the new house will also see two former chief ministers – Oommen Chandy and V.S. Achuthanandan, 92, seated in the opposition and the treasury benches respectively.

Another feature in the new house would be that 83 of them were members in the 13th Kerala Assembly, while 44 of them are new faces, while 13 are returning after a gap. There are eight women in the treasury benches, while there will be none in the opposition benches.

Also there will be no former speaker in the house after N. Sakthan, speaker in the 13th Kerala Assembly, lost the polls.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here