New Delhi, Dec 7 (IANS) Maharashtra beat Punjab to win the 2015 National Wheelchair Basketball Championship.

The winning team received the trophy from Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment Thaawar Chand Gehlot on Sunday.

The competition, which opened on the eve of the International Day of People with Disabilities and lasted from December 2-6, featured nine states: Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Delhi, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

The semi-final and final matches were played on Sunday. Tamil Nadu beat Delhi to clinch the third spot.

Gehlot applauded the players’ spirited display and inner strength.

“The Indian government as well as state governments will give all support to the players for the development of this sport in the country. I assure that we will provide opportunities to each one of you and fully equip you so that you can further develop your game,” he said.

The secnd edition of the Wheelchair Basketball Championship was organised by the International Committee of the Red Cross, Wheelchair Basketball Federation of India and the Sports Authority of India.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here