17 union ministers to tour Uttar Pradesh

Lucknow, Jan 6 (IANS) In what is possibly the biggest outreach by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in politically crucial Uttar Pradesh, as many as 17 union ministers will be in the state over the next fortnight, a party leader said on Wednesday.

BJP spokesman Vijay Bahadur Pathak told IANS those who would visit the state are Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar (Agra), Surface Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari (Lucknow), Fertilizers Minister Ananth Kumar (Gorakhpur), Agriculture Minister Radhe Mohan Singh (Moradabad and Aligarh) and Food and Civil Supplies minister Ram Vilas Paswan would be in Allahabad.

The spokesman further said that these ministers would cover 23 Lok Sabha constituencies, meet people and take their suggestions.

They would also inform them of the schemes rolled out by the National Democratic Alliance government for their welfare and also expose the opposition parties, especially the Congress for stalling the parliament.

“The people who never engaged in dialogue are now ensuring that discussions do not take place,” Pathak added.

Other ministers who would be touring Uttar Pradesh are Ram Kripal Yadav (Kushinagar and Deoria), Science and Technology Minister Harsh Vardhan (Saharanpur), HRD Minister Smriti Irani (Amethi), Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment Vijay Sampla, who would camp in Bahraich and Giriraj Singh who would be travelling to Mathura and Faizabad.

Final touches of the programmes of Chaudhary Birender Singh who would be camping in Bulandshahr, Piyush Goyal in Ballia and Phoolpur, Sanwar Lal Jat in Baghpat, Nihal Chand in Jalaun, Upendra Kushwaha in Chandauli, Krishan Pal in Muzaffarnagar and Jhansi, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore in Meerut and Rampur, are also being worked out, the BJP leader said.

The move is being seen as a move by the BJP national leadership as an attempt to connect with the party workers and the masses after some reports suggested that the party was fast losing its ground.

The BJP had won 71 seats on its own and two were won by its ally Apna Dal in the Lok Sabha polls in 2014.

The state goes to polls in early 2017.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here