Muhammed Monu, Poornima Poojary to Head Mangaluru TP

Muhammed Monu, Poornima Poojary to Head Mangaluru TP

Mangaluru: In the taluk panchayat here, Congress holds a wafer-thin majority of a single vote over the BJP. In the 39-member house, Congress has 20 and the BJP has 19.


This time around, the president’s post was reserved for the general category while the vice president’s was for women from general category.

Congress chose Muhammed Monu representing Pavoor for the post of president and Poornima Ganesh Poojary from Paduperar for that of the VP. Quite expectedly, both got elected by 20-19 votes. The BJP had fielded Ramachandra Kumpala and Vajrakshi Shetty respectively.

Mangaluru subdivision assistant commissioner Dr Ashok was the election officer.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here