Over 80 percent polling in Manipur bypolls

Imphal, Nov 21 (IANS) Over 80 percent of the electorate on Saturday voted in the bypolls to Manipur assembly from two constituencies – Thongju and Thangmeiband, an election official said.

The bypolls were necessitated after the assembly speaker disqualified three MLAs – Thongam Biswajit Singh (Thongju), Khumukcham Joykishan (Thangmeiband) and O. Lukhoi (Wangoi) – under the anti-defection law on May 28.

The Manipur High Court, however, stayed Lukhoi’s disqualification.

The Chief Electoral Officer’s office said there were some problems with a EVM in one polling station and a repoll would be held there.

There were three candidates in the fray for the bypoll from Thangmeiband constituency while four candidates contested from Thongju constituency.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here