A year on, no government decision on nominating Anglo-Indian members to Lok Sabha

New Delhi, June 4 (IANS) Even though the Narendra Modi government has completed a year in office, the nomination of two Anglo-Indian members to the Lok Sabha is yet to be decided.

This, despite several reminders from members of the Anglo-Indian community and its organisations.

“The process to nominate two members of Anglo-Indian community to the Lok Sabha is still on. We have received some names from the community but no decision has been taken yet,” Minister of State for Minority Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi told IANS.

“Appropriate persons will be nominated soon,” he added.

According to Article 331 of the Constitution, the President may, if he is of the opinion that the Anglo-Indian community is not adequately represented in the House of the People, nominate two members of the community to that House.

Cabinet minister for Minority Affairs Najma Heptulla had earlier written a letter to the prime minister after a delegation of Anglo-Indian Associations of India met her three months ago urging her to nominate the members. The assosiation had suggested some names to the minister.

The association had also submitted a memorandum to the president, the prime minister, the home minister and BJP president Amit Shah seeking their urgent intervention to nominate the members “without delay”.

The Anglo-Indian members in the last Lok Sabha were Charles Dias from Kerela and Ingrid Mcleod from Chattisgarh.

Expressing dissatisfaction over delay, Dias, who is also the president of Anglo-Indian Associations of India, told IANS from Kerela that this is “cruelty” to the community, adding: “We will go to any extent for our constitutional right.”

He said the governmenthad not even responded to their request. “This is a very serious issue. The government should make its stand clear soon,” he added.

Dias said that the “unjustifiable delay” had caused one-fifth of the period to pass without the members.

In all previous Lok Sabhas, including during NDA rule under prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, the nominations were made soon after a new government was voted in. The Vajpayee government had nominated Beatrix D’souza and Denzil B. Atkinson.

Frank Antony and A.E.T Barrow were the first members from the community to be nominated to the first Lok Sabha.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here