ACP Tilakchandra and Many Other Cops Transferred

Mangaluru: The state government has issued orders transferring a number of police officers serving in the districts of DK and Udupi.

Among them are ACP Tilakchandra Kojapadi of city central subdivision, who led the investigation team probing RTI activist Vinayak Baliga’s murder. He successfully chargesheeted NaMo Brigade founder Naresh Shenoy and ensured his arrest besides those of his associates.


Also in the list of transfers is ACP Udaya M Nayak of city traffic subdivision, who has been spearheading a campaign against traffic violations and introduced people-friendly measures like WhatsApp complaints about speeding and other offences which were quickly followed up and acted upon.

There are already rumours around that, although they may be part of routine time-bound transfers, certain crucial matters could now be diluted and delayed. In the Baliga murder case, powerful lobbies are said to be working. Those who have been fighting for justice to the Baliga family have already expressed these apprehensions over the timing of the transfer.

In the second case, a large number of private buses operating in the district are owned by prominent politicians by proxy, and taking action against them has been both a risky and challenging matter for the police.

Both Tilakchandra and Nayak’s transfers may have been effected by string-pulling at a very high level, said a citizens’ rights activist.

Here is the full list:

Tilakchandra, ACP, city central subdivision to traffic subdivision
Udaya M Nayak, ACP, city cental traffic subivision to city central subdivision
D S Rajendra, ACP, CID, to city north subdivision,
N S Shruti, ACP, from Shikaripura subdivision to Mangaluru south subdivision
Sunil Y Nayak from Kaup to Mangaluru CCB
Belliappa from Bantwal to Pandeshwar
Raghava Padil from Konaje to Byndoor circle
Praveen H Nayak from Bantwal subdivision to Kundapur subdivision
C R Ravish from internal security to Bantwal subdivision
R Prasanna Kumar from DCRB Chikkamagaluru to ANF Udupi
Anantapadmanabha from Moodbidri to Mulki
Ramachandra Nayak from Mulki to Moodbidri
Arun Bommaiah from Brahmavar to MESCOM Mangaluru
Sudhakar Sadanand Nayak from Coastal Security to Shikaripura subdivision
Sampat Kumar from Lokayukta to DCIB Udupi
Joy Antony from Lokayukta to Karkala circle
Jayashankar T R from DCIB Udupi to Udupi town circle

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here