Anup D’Costa Kundpaur among 15 others selected for Ekalavya awards 2015

Anup D’Costa Kundpaur among 15 others selected for Ekalavya awards 2015

Pics by Janardhan Kodavoor

Udupi: Volleyball national and international player hailing from Kundapur of Udupi district Anup D’Costa is among the 15 sports persons selected for the Ekalavya awards 2015.


Ekalavya awardees

Minister for Sports and Youth Services Pramod Madhwaraj announced the Ekalavya Awards and Life Time Achievers Awards for the year 2015 on Thursday October 6 at the conference hall of the Information department Udupi.


Life-time awardee


Kreeda Ratna awardees

ekalavya-awards-20161006-00 ekalavya-awards-20161006-01 ekalavya-awards-20161006-02 ekalavya-awards-20161006-03

He said that strict transparency has been maintained while selecting the winners. The selections were made under the presidentship of Sayyad Kirmani international cricketer. Awardees who will receive the award from Chief Minister Siddaramaiah at a function at Amruthotsava Bhavana Medical College, J.K. Ground Mysore on Friday October 7.

Ekalavya award carries a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh and a memento while life-time awardees will receive Rs 1.5 lakh and a memento. The Kreeda Ratna award carries Rs 1 lakh and a memento.

ekalavya-awards-20161006-04 ekalavya-awards-20161006-05 ekalavya-awards-20161006-06 ekalavya-awards-20161006-07

Winners of Ekalavya award: Damini Gowda (Swimming), Vidya Pille (Billiards), Pawan Shetty (Body Building), Nithin Thimmaiah (Hocky), Rajguru S (Kabaddi), Krishna A Naikody (Cycling), Aravinda A (Basket Ball), Arpitha M (Athletics), Mohammed Rafeeq (Kusthi)), Meghana M Sajjanr (Raifal Shoothing), Dhrathi Tathachar (Lawn Tennis), Anup D’Costa (Volleyball), G M Nishmitha (Shattel Badminton), Shavad J M ( Para Olympics), Umesh R Khade ( Para Swimming), Kanchan Munnolkar (Power Lifting).

The minister also announced four coaches – John Christopher Nirmal Kumar (Swimming), Shivanand (Boxing) for life-time achievement award while ten sportspersons have been named for the Karnataka Kreeda Ratna prize, instituted to encourage rural sports.

Karnataka Kreeda Ratna:  D. N Rudraswami (Yoga), Poornima P ( Throwball), Amogh U Chachadi (Atya-Patya), Ranjitha M P (Ball – Badminton), Pradeep K C (Kho-Kho), Sumitha U M (Kabaddi), Dr Jeevandhar Ballal and Ananda Irvatthur (Kambala), Ananda L (Boxing), Moshappa Vittappa, Gulbal (Shot-put).

Dr Roshan Kumar Shetty Deputy Director Sport and Youth Empowerment Udupi district, Rohini District information officer were present in the press meet.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here