Arun Kumar Bapu elected President of Kuwait Kannada Koota

Arun Kumar Bapu elected President of Kuwait Kannada Koota

Kuwait: The annual meeting of Kuwait Kannada Koota was held recently at the Carmel School Auditorium, Khaitan, Kuwait.

The programme began with an invocation followed by a presentation of various artistic and cultural events. The special attraction of the programme was ‘Rangi Taranga’, bringing out and showcasing a variety of latent talents of Koota members. ‘Chinnara Loka’ was an attractive event presented by children of the Koota.

As a part of the programme, various prizes and awards were given to the winners of many competitions, sports and games held during the year. The key functionaries of various Koota committees, directors of programmes during the year were honoured on this occasion. The scores achieved by the four houses of Koota – Sharavathi, Netravati, Kaveri and Hemavathi were announced and the winning house Sharavathi was honoured with the Top Award.

The outgoing president of the Koota, Prashanth Shetty gave a vivid presentation of the activities held during the year. A mention was made of the special event ‘Kid Zania’ organized for the Koota children. He also mentioned that a Bangalore chapter of Kuwait Kannada Koota will also be shortly formed. Thereafter the annual accounts of the Koota were presented by the treasurer Dr Shashikiran Prabhu, before the general body for approval.

One of the highlights of the day was the presentation of ‘Nenapina Balli’, a presentation based on the 32 years of history of Kuwait Kannada Koota. The presentation also included the office bearers of each year, members directories published in different years.

Like every year, the top four executive committee members were unanimously elected by the Koota for the year 2017. They are, Arun Kumar Bapu as President, Dr Azad Ismail Saheb as Vice-President, Jithendra R Rao as Chief Secretary and Mahesh Shri Ramgond as treasurer.

Outgoing secretary Prabhu Achar, delivered the vote of thanks, followed by the National Anthem.

by Neramballi Suresh S Rao

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here