Asean issues declaration on forming community at year end

Kuala Lumpur, Nov 22 (IANS) The ten members here on Sunday signed a document on the “formal establishment of the Asean Community” on December 31, 2015, a milestone in the process of regional integration.

In the 2015 Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the Establishment of the Asean Community, leaders of the member countries expressed confidence that the realisation of the Asean Community will “ensure lasting peace, security and resilience in an outward-looking region,” Xinhua reported.

It will form a region with economies “that are vibrant, competitive and highly integrated and an inclusive community that is embedded with a strong sense of togetherness and common identity,” said the document.

The leaders also underlined their aspiration for establishing “a truly rules based, people-oriented, people-centred Asean Community where our peoples continue to participate in and benefit fully from the on-going process of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations integration and community building.”

The idea of building the community was proposed in 2003 on the three pillars of the Asean Political and Security Community, the Asean Economic Community and the Asean Socio-Cultural Community.

The regional bloc, established in 1967, groups Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The leaders of the ten member-countries are here attending the 27th Asean Summit which is to close later Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here