Bengaluru: Jhonas D’Souza Elected as President of KONCAB during 23rd AGB Meeting

Bengaluru: During the 23rd Annual General Body of Konkani Catholic Association Bangalore (KONCAB), the new governing board of the association was elected. Prior to the AGB meeting, KONCAB members and their families attended the thanksgiving Konkani Mass offered by Rev. Fr. Praveen Pinto. Tony Lucas led the melodious choir well supported by the KONCAB members and Committee members. Our own Miss Pearl D’Cunha and Miss Alyn Mendonsa played the keyboard for the hymns.

After the Mass, KONCAB had arranged breakfast for the members. The members then assembled in the School Hall to participate in the 23rd Annual General Body Meeting. The meeting began with the prayer lead by Rev. Fr. Praveen Pinto. President Mrs. Ida Sequeira then called the meeting to order. Secretary Mr. Jhonas D’souza presented the Secretary’s report for the year 2014-15 which was approved by the general body. A minute’s silence and prayer was offered for the repose of souls of members and well-wishers departed in the past year. New members who joined KONCAB in the past year were introduced to the august body.

1-koncab 2-koncab-001 3-koncab-002 4-koncab-003 5-koncab-004 6-koncab-005 7-koncab-006 8-koncab-007 9-koncab-008

Treasurer Mr. Sunil D’Cunha presented the audited accounts for the year 2014-15 and it was approved by the august body. Mr. Mark D’Souza was appointed as the auditor for the year 2015-16. KWT Secretary Mr. Joachim Serrao provided an update on the KWT Samudai Bhavan building project and informed the members that the project work has come to stand-still due to shortage of funds. He sought full hearted support and donations from the members.

Thereafter Col. Victor Gomes who presided over as Returning Officer conducted the election proceedings for electing new Executive Committee for the term 2015-2017. As per the nominations filed before him, all new Committee members were elected unopposed. The post of Vice President, Asst Treasurer and one MC member were filled by the in house nomination by the august body.

Here is the newly elected E.C. body that will lead KONCAB during the year 2015-2017 :

Mr Jhonas D’Souza – President

Mr Thomas D’Souza – Vice President

Mrs. Nora Menezes – Secretary

Mr. N. A. D’Silva – Jt. Secretary

Mr. Sunil D’Cunha – Treasurer

Mr. Roshan Fernandes – Asst. Treasurer

Vinuthan Suares – Sports Secretary

Mrs. Ida Sequeira – IPP and MC member

Col Alexis Periera – MC member

Mr. Steven D’Silva- MC member

Mr. Tony Lucas- MC member

Mr. Joy Saldanha – MC member

Mr. Herald D’Silva – MC member

Mr. Simon D’Souza- MC member

Mr. Ronald Cutinha – MC member

Mr. Kevin Pinto – MC member

Mrs. Rita Lobo – MC member

The outgoing president Mrs. Ida Sequeira thanked the committee and all members for their support during her tenure and congratulated the new committee and wished them success. The newly elected president Mr. Jhonas D’Souza thanked the members for the faith in him and sought everyone’s support in the coming days. He recounted the efforts of all the previous leaders in developing KONCAB into a well-known and prestigious Association in Bangalore and promised that he along with the elected committee will do their best to take the association in the same direction on the principles laid down by the predecessors.

Outgoing Jt. Secretary Mr. Godwin Castelino proposed vote of thanks and the AGM was adjourned. Later the members were entertained with Housie-Housie game. Lunch was arranged by KONCAB for all the members.

1 Comment

  1. Congratulations to you all President and committee members. All the best. Take the Koncab to the great height. Nice to see a able and stable leader Sylvester D Souza RBI among the crowd.God bless.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here