Bengaluru: Rajdeep Sarkar Advances, Varshini leader in girls section

Bengaluru: Rajdeep Sarkar (2233) continued in the top spot after the end of 8th round of Bharath Electronics Officers Club 26th National Under 17 Boys and Girls Chess Championship 2015 organized by United Karnataka Chess Association in Association with Bharath Electronic Officers Club, Bangalore and under the auspices of All India Chess Federation at Bharath Electronic Officers Club, Jalahalli.

At the end of eight round, Rajdeep Sarkar is the sole leader of open section with 7 points.

WFM Vaishali, Kumaran B and Harikrishna A Ra of Tamil Nadu scored 5.5 points each are in second place.

Eight seed FM Rajdeep Sarkar of West Bengal and ninth seed Jayakumaar S (2223) of Tamil Nadu played out colle system of game with center play on the top board. Jayakumaar accepted defeat on 43rd move.

WFM Vaishali and Panavananda played out French classical game on second board. Pranavanada erred in time pressure and lost in 52 move.

Krishna Teja of AP and Kumaran B of Tamilnadu played Nimzo Indian on third board. Krishna won the game in 56 moves

I girls section WFM Varshini V maintained lead by scoring 7.5 points. WFM Mahalakshmi is in second position with 6.5 points. Vantika Agrawal and Potluri Supreetha are in third place with six points each.

Vantika Agrawal and top seed WFM Varshini V played Queens Indian system of game on top board. Vantika had all opportunity to win when Varshini had a piece down in the middle game. But she blundered due to time pressure which helped the top seed to hold on her seat as leader. Their game ended in 54 moves.

WFM Mahalakshmi (2019) of Tamil Nadu and Potluri Saye Sreezza (1817) of Telengana played out Closed Catalan system of game on second board. Mahalakshmi took advantage of the inferior move by Sreeza and managed to get extra pawn in the middle game and won in 32 moves.

Toshali V of AP and Aditee Prabhugaonkar of Goa played on third board and decided to share the point after 52 moves.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here