BJP demands CBI inquiry into DySP Ganapathi case

BJP demands CBI inquiry into DySP Ganapathi case

Udupi: The district unit of BJP staged a protest against the state government in front of the Clock Tower here on July 13 over DySP M K Ganapathi’s suicide case.

image001bjp-protest-udupi-dysp-ganapathi-20160713 image002bjp-protest-udupi-dysp-ganapathi-20160713 image003bjp-protest-udupi-dysp-ganapathi-20160713

Addressing the protesters, president of BJP district unit Mattar Rathnakar Hegde said that suicides by officers under the Congress government in Karnataka is a troubling situation. “DySP K M Ganapathi was an honest officer but due to the alleged harassment of K J George and two IPS officers, he took the extreme step and committed suicide,” said Hegde.

“The state government is under the scanner for interfering in the work of honest officers and not allowing them to function under the parameters of the law. The people are demanding the ouster of K J George for his alleged involvement in the suicide of K M Ganapathi. Even with constructive evidence against him, the CM is silent on the issue and is protecting George and the two IPS officers. If George and the two IPS officers are not dealt with, the BJP will continue to hold severe protests demanding the resignation of George and other two officers,” he added.

image005bjp-protest-udupi-dysp-ganapathi-20160713 image006bjp-protest-udupi-dysp-ganapathi-20160713 image007bjp-protest-udupi-dysp-ganapathi-20160713

Former BJP district president Uday Kumar Shetty said that from the last three years, the state government has been playing with lives of honest officers. He demanded that the state government file an FIR against Minister George and the two police officials, whom Ganapathi had named in the interview to a TV channel prior to his suicide. “Now, efforts are being made to tamper with the evidence. The case should be handed over to the CBI. If not, the BJP will continue to fight until the government is brought down,” said Shetty.

Former MLA K Raghupati Bhat, Suresh Nayak, Yaspal Suvarna, ZP president Dinker Babu, Githanjali Suvarna, Shreesha Nayak, former MLA Lalaji Mendon and others were present.

Later, the protesters submitted a memorandum to the Deputy Commissioner.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here