BJP veteran Rajagopal set to make history

Thiruvananthapuram, May 19 (IANS) Former union minister O. Rajagopal was set to win from Nemom constituency on Thursday to give the BJP its first ever seat in the Kerala assembly.

The 86-year-old was leading by around 8,000 votes, relegating outgoing CPI-M legislator V. Sivankutty to the second place.

Bharatiya Janata Party supporters celebrated the impending victory outside the counting centre.

Rajagopal had contested the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha seat in 1999, 2004 and 2014. He finished in the second place behind Sashi Tharoor of the Congress in 2014.

He had contested the 2011 assembly polls from Nemon and came second. In a 2012 by-election in Neyyatinkara, he got more than 30,000 votes but could not win.

The BJP has never won an assembly or Lok Sabha seat in Kerala.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here