Congress CM, 42 MLAs defect to BJP ally in Arunachal

Congress CM, 42 MLAs defect to BJP ally in Arunachal

Itanagar, Sep 16 (IANS) Chief Minister Pema Khandu and 42 Congress MLAs on Friday quit the Congress and defected to the Peoples Party of Arunachal (PPA), an ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Khandu told reporters that he had informed Speaker Wangki Lowang that “we are merging the Congress with the PPA”.

PPA chairperson Kameng Ringu said the Congress MLAs joining his party was waiting to happen. “It is a homecoming after a temporary exile,” Ringu told IANS after the surprising political development in Arunachal Pradesh.

The Congress has 44 legislators in the house of 60. The only Congress MLA who has not defected is former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki.

Tuki was replaced as the chief minister in July when the Congress stemmed a rebellion in the party and made Khandu the head of the state government.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here