Congress releases second list of candidates for Assam polls

New Delhi, March 21 (IANS) The Congress on Monday released its second list of 57 candidates for the second phase of elections to the Assam assembly.

The list includes the names of incumbent Akon Bora from Dispur, Niren Deka from Jalukbari, Babita Sarma from Guwahati East and Juri Sarma Bardoloi from Guwahati West.

While Forest Minister Rockybul Hussain will re-contest from his seat Samaguri, former All Assam Students Union (AASU) president Shankar Prasad Rai was named from Bongaigaon, and Ardhendu Dey from Hojai.

Candidates were named for Mankachar, South Salmara, Dhubri, Gauripur, Golakganj, Sabana South and North Bilashipara, Gossaigaon, Bijni, North and South Abhayapuri, Dudhnoi, East and West Goalpara, Jaleshwar, Harbhug, Bhabanipur, Patacharkuchi, Barpeta, Jania, Baghbar, Sarukhetri, Chenga, Boko, Chaygaon, and Palashbari.

The list also includes names for Hajo, Kamalpur, Rangiya, Tamulpur, Nalbari, Barkhetri, Dharmapur, Boroma, Kalaigaon, Sipajhar, Mangaldoi, Dalgaon, Jagiroad, Marigaon, Lahorighat, Raha, Dhing, Batadroba, Rupohihat, Nagaon, Barhampur, Kaliabar, Jamunamukh and Lumding.

The Congress had released its first list of 65 candidates for elections to the 126 member assembly last week.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here