Congress wins Uttarakhand trust vote 

Dehradun, May 10 (IANS) The Congress-led by ousted Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat won the trust vote in the state assembly on Tuesday, a party legislator said.

Sarita Arya, the legislator from Nainital constituency, told a private TV channel that the “Congress has won”.


She claimed that Rawat secured 33 votes while 28 went against him.

The assembly proceedings were videographed on the order of the Supreme Court. The voting result will be declared officially by the top court on Wednesday.

A beaming Rawat didn’t comment on the voting result but thanked the “Supreme Court, democratic forces and people of Uttarakhand” for supporting him. “Uttarakhand will be victorious tomorrow,” Rawat told reporters.

Prohibitory orders were clamped around the assembly premises ahead of the trust vote.

Uttarakhand has been under President’s Rule since March 27 when the Congress government was dismissed by the central government citing mis-governance in the hill state.

President’s Rule was lifted for two hours, between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. on Tuesday for the floor test.

The 70-member Uttarakhand assembly has been reduced to only 62 — including one nominated member — after the Supreme Court upheld the disqualification of nine Congress rebel legislators.

The Congress has 27 members and the BJP 28. There are six from the PDF.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here