Dipa Karmakar star attraction at CSJC awards

Kolkata, April 28 (IANS) Dipa Karmakar, who became the first Indian woman to qualify for gymnastics in the Olympics was the star attraction at the Calcutta Sports Journalists’ Club (CSJC) awards here.

Dipa received the award as part of the club’s diamond jubilee celebrations for her contribution to the sport. “Thank you for this award. This means a lot,” Dipa said on Wednesday.

Her coach Bisheswar Nandi was also felicitated at the event.

Ace paddler Mouma Das, who made it to her second Olympics too received an award for her achievements alongside table tennis star Soumyajit Ghosh who too has qualified for Rio.

As Ghosh could not be present at the event the memento was collected by his father.

East Bengal’s star striker Ranti Martins, who won the golden boot for the highest scorer in the recent I-League, was feted for his contribution to football in India.

India’s iconic shuttler Saina Nehwal was chosen Best Indian Sportsperson by the CSJC’s members for her stellar run in 2015 during which she also became the World No.1 singles player.

Though she could not be present at the event, she sent a message thanking the members.

Tennis legend Jaidip Mukerjea, hockey Olympic gold medallist Bir Bahadur Chhetri and reputed powerlifter and weightlifter Sumita Laha were the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement awards.

The award winners are:

Lifetime Achievement: Jaidip Mukerjea (tennis), Bir Bahadur Chhetri (hockey) and Sumita Laha (weightlifting and powerlifting).

Outstanding contribution to gymnastics: Bishweshwar Nandi

Unparalleled contribution in gymnastics: Dipa Karmakar

Outstanding contribution to Indian football: Ranti Martins

Best Sportsperson of the Country: Saina Nehwal (badminton)

Best Junior Sportsperson of the Country: Mitrabha Guha (chess)

State awards (Best Player):

Athletics (male): Sashi Bhusan Singh

Athletics (female): Lily Das

Basketball: Sagar Joshi

Badminton: Uthsava Palit

Chess: Diptayan Ghosh

Cricket: Sudip Chatterjee

Football: Debjit Majumdar

Football: Sony Norde (foreigner)

Kabaddi: Rajesh Mondal

Shooting: Kuheli Gangulee

Swimming: Sayani Ghosh

Table Tennis (women): Mouma Das

Table Tennis (men): Soumyajit Ghosh

Volleyball: Kamalika Debnath

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here