Discontent over reshuffle simmers, Ambareesh resigns as MLA

Discontent over reshuffle simmers, Ambareesh resigns as MLA

Bengaluru, June 20, 2016, (PTI) As discontent simmered over the reshuffle of his ministry by Chief Minister Sidddaramaiah, cine-actor turned politician Ambareesh today resigned as Member of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Ambareesh sent a one line resignation letter addressed to the Assembly Speaker through his personal assistant, the move coming a day after Siddaramaiah dropped 14 ministers and inducted 13 others in the major revamp.

Deputy Speaker Shivashankara Reddy, who is officiating as the Speaker’s post is lying vacant with Kagodu Thimmappa being appointed as the cabinet Minister, has not accepted the letter as the Member himself did not submit it.


“Ambareesh has sent a letter of resignation through some other person; any such letter will be considered valid if the member himself submits it. I have sent it back,” Shivashankar Reddy told PTI.

The resignation letter states he is resigning as MLA of Mandya constituency, without assigning any reason.

Ambareesh was the Housing Minister before he was dropped.

He had earlier also served as Member of Parliament and was Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting, but had resigned from the Lok Sabha membership, expressing dissatisfaction with the Cauvery Dispute Tribunal award.

Ambareesh’s supporters in Mandya continued their protest for the second consecutive day today.

They had blocked the Bengaluru-Mysuru Highway yesterday.

Resentment is brewing within Congress after the reshuffle, with several dropped Ministers and those who were aspiring to join the cabinet openly expressing their unhappiness against the party leadership.

The ministers who faced the axe are: Qamarul Islam, Shamanoor Shivashankarappa, V Srinivasa Prasad, M H Ambareesh, Vinay Kumar Sorake, Satish Jarkiholi, Baburao Chinchansoor, Shivaraj Sangappa Tangadagi, S R Patil, Manohar Tahasildhar, K Abayachandra Jain, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Kimmane Ratnakar and P T Parameshwar Naik.

Srinivasa Prasad and Islam are among others who have made no secret of their displeasure over being dropped.

Supporters of Srinivas Prasad had called for a bandh in Chamarajanagar and Nanjangud today.

Similar protests by supporters of various aspirants Congress MLA’s and dropped Ministers have been reported from different parts of the state.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here