Dist Mahila Congress Felicitate new ZP and TP members

Udupi: “The newly elected Zilla Panchayat and Taluk Panchayat members should strive to bring transparency in the administration,” said Parliamentary secretary for Revenue, MLA Pramod Madhwaraj. He was speaking after inaugurating the felicitation ceremony for the newly elected ZP and TP women members from the Congress Party at Brahmagiri here, on March 19.

The Congress Party has given more priority for women in politics by introducing 50% reservation in local body elections. The winners of the ZP and TP polls should not consider themselves as leaders and should instead dedicate themselves to the service of the people.

19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-008 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-009 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-001 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-002 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-003 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-004 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-005 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-006 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-007 19-03-2016-women-congress-felicitation-zp-tp-010

Those who have lost in the elections should also dedicate themselves to the service of the people which will help them in the coming elections. We have failed to obtain majority seats in the ZP and TP elections in the district for which we should find out the reasons, he added.

MLC Pratapchandra Shetty inaugurated the programme by lighting the traditional lamp and later addressed the gathering. Newly elected ZP and TP members were felicitated on the occasion and other contestants were also recognized.

President of District Women Congress, Veronica Corenlio presided over the function. Congress leader Amrith Shenoy, Jayashree Krishnaraj, Gopi K Naik, Sarala Kanchan, Laxmi Bhat, Malini Rai, Geetha Wagle, Sadhu Billava, Sujatha, Joythi Puthran, Meenakshi Madhava Bannanje and others were present.

Joythi Hebbar welcomed the gathering, Roshni Olivera and Dr Sunitha Shetty compered the programme.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here