Doha: Prakash Noronha Elected as MCC’s New President

Doha: Prakash Noronha Elected as MCC’s New President

Doha: Prakash Noronha was elected as the new president of Mangalore Cricket Club (MCC), Qatar during its 24th Annual General Meeting held on Friday, June 3, 2016, at the Ashoka Hall, ICC premises. Prakash Noronha was the vice-president and was unanimously elected as the president for the term 2016-2018.

Naveen D’Souza, the emcee of the program, opened the evening an introduction & welcome the gathering. Ryan Renjar, General Secretary invoked God’s blessings on the program with an opening prayer. The Executive Committee of 2014-16 then presented its annual report to the members for the term 2015-16. Joint General Secretary Raj Maxim Rodrigues read the detailed report on Club’s activities while treasurer Ronald Saldanha put forward details of the audited financial report. President Norbert Corda then gave his final outgoing message as President and briefed on the success story of last year’s activities and thanked every excom member, advisory committee and members for their continued support and help during his term of 2 years Presidency and to his excom. He also thanked members for giving him the second opportunity to serve the club as President and encouraged members to come forward to join the executive committee and hone their leadership skills. A small question answer session was allowed and members queries were all answered.

image001prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-001 image002prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-002 image003prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-003 image004prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-004 image005prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-005 image006prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-006 image007prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-007 image008prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-008 image009prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-009 image010prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-010 image011prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-011 image012prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-012 image013prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-013 image014prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-014 image015prakash-naronha-mcc-20160607-015

Richard D’Souza, Past President and Advisor of the club was then invited to officiate the Election of the new committee. He first dissolved the old executive committee members from their duties. This was followed by the election of the new president and executive committee. He read all the nominations received for all 13 positions and invited all elected members to the stage. The new executive committee is as follows:

President: Prakash Noronha
Vice-President: Ronald Saldanha
General Secretary: Riana Pinto
Cultural Secretary: Prabha Rego
Sports Secretary: Cyril D’Souza
Membership Secretary: Treza Goveas
Treasurer: Joachim D’Souza
Facilities and Arrangements Secretary: Denzil Christen Lobo
Public Relations Officer: Vivian D’Souza
Joint Secretary: Ryan Renjar
Joint Cultural Secretary: Lyarlin Shilpa Rodrigues
Joint Sports Secretary: Naveen D’Souza
Joint Facilities and Arrangement Secretary: Melvyn Pinto

Sub-committees to assist the executive committee were also formed on the occasion.
Cultural Team – Naveen D’Souza, Della Rego, Rita Andrade & Shalini Monteiro
Sports Team – Jaison Lobo, Vijay D’Souza, Winnie Saldanha
Web-master – Anson Fernandes;

The Election Chair Richard D’Souza then took an oath from all elected members describing their duties and were officially enrolled in the committee. He then asked the pledge from the members to the newly elected Excom in discharging their duties. Outgoing President Norbert Corda then handed over a copy of the constitution to the new president Prakash Noronha. New president Prakash Noronha then delivered his acceptance speech and thanked all for their support and encouragement. He requested the support of all members in carrying out the duties of the club and requested them to introduce our club to their friends to support membership drive.

The official program was then followed by a short cultural program. MCC welcome song was sung by a group comprised of members and excom members. This was followed by a solo song from Arlene Monteiro titled “Iskoloso Burgo“ from Maxim’s hits. Young kids sang in a group “Dev Boro Dhees dheevn” composed by Wilfy Rebimbus and entertained the crowd with their lovely singing trained by Lavina D’Souza. Veteran actors Vivian D’Souza, Alwyn Goveas along with Sundeep Noronha presented a rib-tickling joke. MCC’s talent show winner Carol D’Souza then presented in her melodious voice a solo song “Valchya udkaak mog dharyaso” composed by MicMax and won the hearts of all. It was followed by a lively dance from Vanessa Fernandes, Viola Monteiro and Nikita Rego on a Hindi number “Tukuru Tukuru” which was truly enjoyed by all. The final item was another joke from Vivian, Alwyn and Della Rego to which the crowd burst into laughter.

Lucky member prize was conducted for members and the first lucky member was Naveen/Sunita D’Souza and second was won by Prakash/Delita D’Souza. These prizes were given away by President Prakash Noronha.

A game of bingo was played and was conducted by Cyril D’Souza & Vijay D’Souza. Bingo winners were Veena Saldanha, Vanessa Fernandes, William Barboza, Vanessa Saldanha and Cynthia Cordeiro . Advisors Jerry D’Mello, David D’Souza, Richard D’Souza and Jessy Mendonca gave away the prizes.

Cultural Secretary Riana Pinto proposed the vote of thanks. The whole program was compered by Naveen D’Souza and did an excellent job in his maiden attempt.
All members were then served with sumptuous home cooked food prepared by few committee members and members at founder member Jerry D’Mello’s residence. The crowd was in full praise of the delicious dishes.

MCC Executive committee takes this opportunity to thank all volunteers and artists who came forward to make this 24th annual day a memorable one.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here