Dravid in, no place for Sachin in Sangakkara’s all-time XI

Dravid in, no place for Sachin in Sangakkara’s all-time XI

London, June 29 (IANS) Indian batting legend Rahul Dravid is the lone Indian to find a place in former Sri Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara’s list of all-time XI, led by islander Aravinda De Silva.

The list has four Australians and three Lankans while a lone spot for Indian, Pakistan, South African and West Indian players. It includes nobody from England or New Zealand.

Unlike former New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum, who preferred to have batting icon Sachin Tendulkar for the opening slot, Sangakkara chose to have Dravid as the opening partner with Australian Matthew Hayden.

“Matthew Hayden will be at the top of the order facing the first ball and to complement him, I have got Rahul Dravid,” Sangakkara said in a video published on social media by the Lord’s Cricket Ground.

The iconic wicketkeeper-batsman chose his ‘all time favourite batsman’ Brian Lara along with former Aussie captain Ricky Ponting for the No.3 and 4 slots.

Former South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis found himself at No.5 while legendary Australian stumper Adam Gilchrist will be at No.6 besides donning the gloves.

In the bowling department, the 46-year-old Sangakkara believes Shane Warne and Muttiah Muralitharan are the two specialist spinners who are the best he has ever seen as they can bowl well in any condition.

The fast bowling department will have legendary Lankan pacer Chaminda Vaas along with former Pakistan skipper Wasim Akram.

Sangakkara’s team: Matthew Hayden, Rahul Dravid, Brian Lara, Ricky Ponting, Aravinda De Silva (Captain), Jacques Kallis, Adam Gilchrist (wk), Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan, Wasim Akram, Chaminda Vaas.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here