Easy win for Indian Railways in hockey tourney

Chennai, July 18 (IANS) Indian Railways rolled past local challengers Indian Overseas Bank (IOB) 4-1 in a pool B match of the 89th MCC-Murugappa Cup All-India hockey tournament, here Saturday.

Starring in the railways win with goals were Narad, Sandeep Singh, Simrandeep Singh and Vinod Kumar while S.M. Rafeeq struck the lone goal for IOB.

In two pool A matches, CAG drew 2-2 with Mumbai Hockey and Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL) edged past Namdhari XI 2-1.

Veteran and former India star Deepak Thakur scored both the goals for the IOCL while Avtar Singh kept Namdhari in the hunt with a first-half strike.

Mumbai turned back a 1-2 deficit with a last minute goal by Manpreet Singh who had scored earlier in the game while Azam Baig and Chandan Singh scored in quick succession for CAG.


Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here