Ex-CVC Vinod Rai, Anupam Kher among 19 Padma Bhushan awardees

New Delhi, Jan 25 (IANS) Former chief vigilance commissioner Vinod Rai, actor Anupam Kher, sportspersons Saina Nehwal and Sania Mirza and late spiritual leader Swami Dayanand Saraswati are among the 19 notable personalities to get Padma Bhushan awards this year.

Others who will get Padma Bhushan award, announced by the government on Monday, are Udit Narayan Jha (art-playback singing), Ram V. Sutar (art-sculpture), Heisnam Kanhailal (art-theatre), Dr Yarlagadda Lakshmi Prasad (literature and education), Prof N.S. Ramanuja Tatacharya (literature and education), Dr Barjinder Singh Hamdard (literature and education – journalism), Prof D. Nageshwar Reddy (medicine-gastroenterology), Swami Tejomayananda (other-spiritualism), Hafeez Contractor (others-architecture), Ravindra Chandra Bhargava (public affairs), Dr Venkata Rama Rao Alla (science & engineering), Indu Jain (trade & industry), Robert Blackwill (public affairs) and Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry (trade & industry).

This year, President Pranab Mukherjee will confer Padma awards, including 10 Padma Vibhushan, 19 Padma Bhushan and 83 Padma Shri awards on 112 people from different walks of life.

As many as 19 awardees are women and 10 are from foreigners, non-resident Indians and People of Indian Origin (including one posthumous). Four of those on the honour list are posthumous awardees.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here