Harinath and Sumitra Kariya Elected Mayor and Deputy

Mangaluru: The 18th Mayoral election was held at the Mangala Sabhangana, MCC here, on March 11.

The Mayor’s seat was open to the general category and the Post of Deputy Mayor was reserved for women from the scheduled category. Harinath was elected as the new Mayor with a margin of 16 votes as Harinath secured 36 votes and Roopa D Bangera from the opposition, secured 20 votes. Being the only eligible candidate from the scheduled category, Sumitra Kariya from the opposition was elected as Deputy Mayor of the Mangalore City Corporation.

3-20160311-mayor-harinath-sumitra-009 2-20160311-mayor-harinath-sumitra-005 1-20160311-mayor-harinath-sumitra-003

Harinath said, “I have won council election five times and District Minister In-charge, Ramnath Rai has done social justice by giving me the chance to contest for the post of Mayor. I thank all the ministers from my party, MLA JR Lobo, MLC Ivan D’Souza, MLA Mohiuddin Bava, Health Minister U T Khader, Minister Abhaychandra Jain, Minister Veerappa Moily, party seniors Janardhan Poojary and Oscar Fernandes, Minister Vinay Kumar Sorake and all others who have supported and believed in me.”

“I seek help from the opposition party to run the development work smoothly,” Harinath added. Sumithra said, “I thank my party members and I look forward to work for the development of the city.”

Members of the standing committees were also appointed. Corporators appointed as members of Tax and Finance Committee are, Shailaja, Appi, Naveenchandra, Praveenchandra Alva, Sumaiya, Pratibha Kulai and Surendra.

Urban Planning and Development Committee will include, Lancelot Pinto, Ashok Shetty, Rathikala, Vijay Kumar, K Madhukiran, Naven D’Souza and Purushotham Chitrapura.

Accounts Committee will include, Purnima, Raghuveer, Zubeida, B Prakash, Akhila Alva, Kavitha and Basheer Ahamad.

Health, Education and Social Justice Committee will include, Latha Salian, Rajaneesh, Nagaveni, Premananda Shetty, Rajesh, Deepak Poojary and Kavitha Sanil.

Regional Commissioner Kunjappa from Mysuru Division, conducted the election process. Additional Commissioner, KM Gayatri from Mysuru Division, MCC Commissioner Dr Gopalkrishna and other officers monitored the elections.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here