Implement SC ruling on ex-CM’s bungalows in Jharkhand: Congress

Implement SC ruling on ex-CM’s bungalows in Jharkhand: Congress

Ranchi, Aug 2 (IANS) The Supreme Court ruling disentitling former chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh from retaining government bungalows should also be implemented in Jharkhand, the Congress said on Monday.

“The Supreme Court verdict should be implemented in the state. The expenditure incurred on facilities extended to former chief ministers ultimately burdens the public,” Kishore Sahdeo, spokesman of the Jharkhand unit of the Congress, told IANS.

Jharkhand has five former chief ministers belonging to various parties retaining their state government-provided bungalows: Babulal Marandi (JVM-P), Arjun Munda (BJP), Madhu Koda (independent), Shibu Soren and Hemant Soren (both JMM).

They not only live in sprawling bungalows, but have also been provided with security staff, personal assistants and other facilities.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) Chief Shibu Soren occupies the largest bungalow — near Morbadi ground of Ranchi city.

A state guest house situated near Morabadi ground was turned into official residence of Babulal Marandi of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P).

Another guest house situated near old jail of Ranchi was converted into a house for BJP’s Arjun Munda.

The decision to provide former chief ministers with bungalows was first taken in 2003 by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government led by Arjun Munda. It was to provide an official accommodation to Babulal Marandi who had quit as chief minister after MLAs belonging to coalition partners revolted against him.

The bungalow facility was withdrawn briefly in 2010 when President’s Rule was imposed in Jharkhand before being restored the same year by Arjun Munda when he became the chief minister again.

During that brief period, only Babulal Marandi quit his bungalow while others did not. Marandi again accepted the facility when it was restored.

The instability that has characterised successive Jharkhand governments since the state’s formation in 2000 has meant that there have been too many claimants of the expensive facility.

Jharkhand has seen six chief ministers since its creation in 2000 as no government has so far survived more than 28 months. The Congress has never been in power in the state

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here