India A aim for improved performance against South Africa A

Krishnagiri (Kerala), Aug 24 (IANS) On a high after managing a memorable draw in the first match, India A will aim to put up an even better performance and win against South Africa A in their second and final four-day match here at the Krishnagiri Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

Right-hand batsman Karun Nair struck an impressive century (114 not out) alongside Vijay Shankar’s unbeaten 74 to help the hosts to a draw against South Africa A on Friday in the first four-day match.

But India A will miss in-form batsman Nair for their second match as he was called in by the senior Indian team as a replacement for injured batsman Murali Vijay for the third Test against hosts Sri Lanka.

India A played second fiddle to the visitors for the main part of the match but both their bowling and batting clicked when it mattered.

They were bundled out for just 204 in the first innings, but some outstanding batting in the second innings saved the day for the Rahul Dravid coached India A side.

With Nair unavailable, experienced Abhinav Mukund, skipper Ambati Rayudu, young Shreyas Iyer and Shankar will hold the key in the batting department.

Bowlers Ishwar Pandey, Axar Patel, Karn Sharma and Abhimanyu Mithun, thought to be the stronger attack, were unimpressive in the first innings of the first match.

The first game should be a learning experience for the bowlers who will look to bounce back with a much improved performance.

On the other hand, South Africa A will have very little homework to do ahead of the second match when it comes to their batting.

In both the innings their batsmen were stand out performers. While their bowling clicked in the first innings, it failed to put pressure on the Indian batsmen on the final day, which resulted in a draw.

The visitors’ batting will again depend on in-form batsman Quinton de Kock and Omphile Ramela, while right-arm spinner Dane Piedt will be the key in their bowling department.


India A: Ambati Rayudu (captain), Karun Nair, Abhinav Mukund, Ankush Bains, Shreyas Iyer, Baba Aparajith, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, Karn Sharma, Abhimanyu Mithun, Shradul Thakur, Ishwar Pandey, Sheldon Jackson, Jiwanjot Singh.

South Africa A: Dane Vilas (captain), Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma, Gihahn Cloete, Theunis de Bruyn, Marchant de Lange, Beuran Hendricks,Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Dane Paterson, Dane Piedt, Omphile Ramela, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Stiaan van Zyl, Hardus Viljoen, David Wiese

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here