India eye continued dominance over Zimbabwe

Harare, July 16 (IANS) After ensuring a resounding clean-sweep over Zimbabwe in the three-match One-Day International (ODI) series, a confident young Indian side will aim to consolidate their dominance over the hosts in the first match of the two Twenty20 Internationals to be played at the Harare Sports Club here on Friday.

India clinched the ODI series 3-0. The visitors were a superior side in the 50-over campaign winning the first ODI by four runs, the second by 62 runs and the third by 83 runs.

The visitors will have very little homework to do after putting up an impressive show both with the bat and bowl in the ODI series.

But the hosts, swept aside in the ODI series, will look to making a strong comeback and proving themselves in the T20 series.

Several Indian batsmen, namely Ambati Rayudu, skipper Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Yadav and Murali Vijay, were among runs in the ODIs. Allrounder Stuart Binny and bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, spinners Axar Patel and Harbhajan Singh were successful at taking wickets.

While Rayudu, who scored a match-winning hundred in the first ODI, got injured and returned home, his replacement Manish Pandey chipped in, hitting a useful 71 on his debut to help India win the third ODI.

India will aim to capitalise on their batting strength to put on an authoritative show, hoping their batsmen become more aggressive in the shortest format of the game.

ALl eyes will be on skipper Ajinkya Rahane and Murali Vijay and their ability to provide strong starts on foreign pitches. Senior batter Robin Uthappa will also like to start scoring after missing out in the ODIs.

Zimbabwe will hope their star hitter Chamu Chibhabha comes good and single handedly lead them to victories.

The Teams (from):

India: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Robin Uthappa, Murali Vijay, Stuart Binny, Manoj Tiwary, Harbhajan Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Sandeep Sharma, Sanju Samson and Mohit Sharma.

Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Regis Chakabva, Chamu Chibhabha, Graeme Cremer, Neville Madziva, Hamilton Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Tinashe Panyangara, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller and Sean Williams.


Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here