JD-U, BJP win two seats each in legislative council polls

Patna, July 10 (IANS) Bihar’s ruling Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and the opposition BJP have won two seats each on Friday as counting of votes cast for the biennial elections to 24 legislative council seats was underway, officials said.

JD-U’s candidate Reena Yadav has won from Nalanda seat and the party has also won from Muzaffarpur seat. Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate Sachidanand Rai won from Chapra and Aurangabad seat.

An independent candidate Ritlal Yadav, who is lodged in Beur jail here, is leading from the Patna seat.

Yadav, a criminal-turned-politician, is considered close to Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

According to officials of the state election commission, JD-U is leading from two seats and its ally RJD from two seats. Besides, the BJP is also leading from the two seats.

The election for 24 seats of Bihar Legislative council were held on Tuesday with an estimated 94 percent voting recorded during the polls.

Altogether, 152 contestants we

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here