JP D’Mello Indian Football League Kerala to Face Skynet in Finals


JP D’Mello Indian Football League Kerala to Face Skynet in Finals

Kuwait: The Kuwait Indian Football Federation (KIFF) League for the prestigious J.P D’Mello Trophy is set for a grand finale at Bayan Grounds, 6:00 pm Friday 12th April 2019.

The league final will be played between defending champions AKFC (All Kerala Football Club) and Skynet Miracles SC.

For Synet Miracles, it is their maiden entry in the finals.

Incidentally, both the teams had kicked off the season last October.

Earlier in the semifinals, AKFC beat United Goans in the tie-breaker 4-3, while Skynet Miracles defeated GOA Maroons 3-2.


A number of dignitaries are expected to attend the finals including ex-KIFF presidents, affiliated club presidents, KIFF founder members, IFRA Members, KEFAK Members, etc.

KIFF President Derick Gomindes, who is heading the federation for a second term running, will be the chief guest on the occasion.

Gulf Cable & Electrical Industries are the official sponsor of KIFF.


Teams participating for the league included All Kerala Football Club (AKFC), AVC Sports & Cultural Association, Don Bosco Oratory, FC Sparx, GOA Maroons, GOA FC, Indian Strikers, Pen Friends United, Santos United, Skynet Miracles SC, Soccer Kerala and United Goans Centre.

Apart from the 11-aside League, other 11-aside and 7-aside tournaments are also packed into the KIFF program.

KIFF matches are supported by officials appointed from different clubs affiliated to the federation.

Referees have shown great consistency this season which was evident from appreciation received from everyone around connected with the game.


Kuwait Indian Football Federation (K.I.F.F.) established in 1984 controls the League and all-India tournaments organized in Kuwait.

The League provides Indian players with the opportunity to showcase their football skills.

J.P. Memorial Rolling Trophy – KIFF League is named after late Indian referee Jerome Pascoal D’Mello (popularly known in India and Kuwait as JP).

JP, who died in 1994, was an ex-FIFA referee, Member of Asian Football Confederation Referees Committee, Ex-Hon. Secretary and Member of Bombay Referees’ Association.

A founder President of the federation, J.P was the prime architect in conceiving the idea of forming KIFF.


KIFF managing committee for the season consists of: DerickGomindes (Goa Maroons) – President, Robert Bernard (Indian Strikers) – Vice-President, Michael Pereira (Goa FC) – Sports Secretary, ZiddikSharaf (Pen Friends United) – Treasurer, Majeed P.A. (Soccer Kerala) – Asst Sports Secretary, Fouad (All Kerala FC) – Reliever, Clarence Pires (Don Bosco Oratory) – P.R.O, A. Sameer (FC Sparx) – Registrar, etc.


Probable line-up of the finalists is as follows:
AKFC: Alfaz (goalkeeper), Jithesh, Rafeek, Anas, Sujith, Sarath, Ivin, Hari, Mujhin, Kishore, Rahul, Ranjith, Sibin, Navas, Rakesh, Haslor, Siraj, Ramesh, etc.
Team Manager: Mansour

SKYNET MIRACLES: Martin Gomes (goalkeeper), Marcos, Jackson, Pradeep, Sabu, Sonu, Joel, Aneesh, Jhons, Albin, Regan, Xavier, Morris, Neves, Rollan, Jafar, Xavier, Duresh, etc.
Team Manager: Melvin Fernandes

2000/01 – GOA Maroons
2001/02 – Navelim Youth Centre
2002/03 – United Friends Club
2003/04 – Bombay Boys
2004/05 – AVC Overseas Association
2005/06 – Navelim YC
2006-07 – Kuwait Goan Association
2007-08 – NavelimYC
2008-09 – Goa Maroons
2009-10 – United Friends Club
2010-11 – GOA Maroons
2011-12 – Don Bosco Oratory
2012-13 – NavelimYC
2013-14 – AVC Overseas Association
2014-15 – Don Bosco Oratory
2015-16 – Soccer Kerala
2016-17 – Curtorcares United
2017-18 – AKFC
2018-19 – ?

Report by Gasper Crasto