Karthik beat Pant on wicket-keeping skills: Prasad

Spread the love

Karthik beat Pant on wicket-keeping skills: Prasad

Mumbai: BCCI chief selector M.S.K Prasad on Monday made it clear that wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik will not automatically start in the playing XI in the upcoming World Cup and will only get a chance when M.S. Dhoni gets injured.

Announcing the 15-member India squad for the prestigious quadrennial event to be held in England and Wales, Prasad said that Karthik’s wicket-keeping skills and ability to handle pressure resulted in him being picked over Rishabh Pant.

“We were all in unison that either Pant or DK will come in only when Mahi is injured. In an important game, wicket-keeping is also important. That’s the reason we went with Dinesh Karthik,” he said.

The chief selector also heaped praises on Pant and said that the left-handed batsman is full of talent. “Pant is full of talent. There’s a lot of time for him. It’s just unfortunate that he’s missed out. Under pressure, we have seen Dinesh Karthik finishing matches. That scored for him,” Prasad stated.

Vijay Shankar has been included in the squad as the number four batsman instead of Ambati Rayadu while Ravindra Jadeja has been picked as the third spinner instead of a fourth pacer.

Speaking over Shankar’s inclusion, Prasad said that the 26-year-old all-rounder from Tamil Nadu gives “three dimensions” to the team.

“After the Champions Trophy, we have tried quite a few middle-order batsmen, which also included Karthik, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey. We did give a few more chances to Rayudu but Vijay Shankar gives three dimensions. He can bat, if the conditions are overcast he can bowl, plus he is a fielder. We are looking at Vijay Shankar as a number four batsman. Now we have plenty of options for that slot.”

K.L. Rahul, who has been included as the reserve opener, can bat in the middle order too, if the team management needs, stated the BCCI chief selector.

Four additional medium pacers will travel to England with the team as practice net bowlers, said Prasad.

India will begin their World Cup campaign against South Africa on June 5.

Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, K.L. Rahul, Virat Kohli (c), M.S. Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here