Kohli to be honoured with Polly Umrigar Award

Mumbai, Dec 31 (IANS) India’s Test skipper Virat Kohli will be honoured with the Polly Umrigar Award by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for being the country’s top international cricketer during 2014-15.

Kohli will receive the prestigious trophy and cheque of Rs.5 lakh at the Annual BCCI awards ceremony here on January 5. The 27-year-old will get the award for the second time after winning it first in 2011-12.

The previous winners of this award are Sachin Tendulkar (2006-07, 2009-10), Virender Sehwag (2007-08), Gautam Gambhir (2008-09), Rahul Dravid (2010-11), Ravichandran Ashwin (2012-13) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2013-14).

As earlier announced, former India wicketkeeper Syed Kirmani has been nominated for the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.

Karnataka has been chosen as the state association of the year for achieving the treble of winning the Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup and Vijay Hazare Trophy in 2014-15.

Lala Amarnath Award for the best all-rounder in the 2014-15 Ranji Trophy season will be given to Jalaj Saxena of Madhya Pradesh while Deepak Hooda of Baroda will the receive Lala Amarnath Award for the best all-rounder in domestic limited-overs competitions.

Robin Uthappa of Karnataka will receive the Madhavrao Scindia Award for the highest scorer of the Ranji Trophy in the same season while his teammate R. Vinay Kumar will also get the Madhavrao Scindia Award for becoming the highest wicket-taker.

Mithali Raj of Railways has been chosen to receive the M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best woman cricketer of 2014-15.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here