Konkani Sahitya Academy Awards – 2015 Conferred in Bhatkal

Bhatkal: Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy conferred its annual Honorary Awards, Book Awards, Yuva Puraskar and Special Recognition Awards for the year 2015 on Sunday March 6 at Nagayakshe Sabha Bhavan, Bhatkal.
MLA Mankal Vaidya after inaugurating the award ceremony said that the achievements of Konkani’s are innumerable. More than 60% of population in Bhatkal speak in Konkani language and the Konkani’s are spread over the corners of the world. It is good to see the people of different religions speaking in Konkani language, He further said that language creates a bond and also builds trust among the people.

Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy conferred its awards on 12 people.

06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-002 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-003 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-004 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-005 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-006 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-007 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-008 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-009 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-010 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-011 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-012 06-03-2016-konkani-acadamy-award-013

Well known personality of Bhatkal, Community leader SM Syed Khalilur Rahman, Hangayo Ice-Cream managing director Pradeep G, George Fernandes for their achievements in respective fields.
The Honorary awards were conferred on Ramchandra M Shet (Konkani language and literature), Kasargod Chinna (Konkani art) and Alu Peelu Marati (Konkani folk).
The Book Awards was conferred on Om Ganesh Uppunda for the transalation of ‘Bayila Bhade Bayila, Rony Arun for the Research study book ‘Tho’Kanatullo zuzari”, and Fr Denis Castelino for collection of Konkani Articles titled “Dalit”.

Rajaram Prabhu (music), Nasrullah Askeri (sports) and Anjali Wilson Vaz (Dance) were conferred with Yuva Puraskar-2015 (youth awards)Traditional songs, folk dances of Konkani forefathers, Duff Dance, Ghazal, Drama and various other programmes were performed during the function.

The programme commenced with Nada Geete by the students of Zenkar Melodies, Bhatkal. President Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy Roy Castelino addressed the key note and welcomed the audience. Bhatkal MLA Mankal Vaidya Presided over the function and Registrar B Devadas Pai delivered the Vote of thanks. Mamatha Kamath and Ashok Kasargod compeered the program.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of www.mangalorean.com or any employee thereof. www.mangalorean.com is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of www.mangalorean.com to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at  info@mangalorean.com. Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here