Lalu fields two sons in Bihar

Patna, Sep 23 (IANS) RJD chief Lalu Prasad’s two sons, Tej Pratap Yadav and Tejaswi Yadav, will contest the Bihar assembly polls.

Their names figure in the list of 242 candidates released on Wednesday by the Grand Alliance of the Janata Dal-United (JD-U), Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress.

Elder son Tej Pratap Yadav, 27, will contest from Mahua constituency and Tejaswi Yadav, 25, from Raghopur.

Both Mahua and Raghopur are adjacent constituencies in Vaishali district, not far from Patna. Vaishali is considered a RJD stronghold.

Lalu Prasad and his wife and former chief minister Rabri Devi won several elections between 1995 to 2010 from Raghopur.

Tejaswi Yadav, a cricketer-turned-politician, is a popular face of the party. He recently attended a rally with Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi in West Champaran district.

The BJP has fielded Satish Kumar Yadav, who joined the party hours before he was declared its candidate, in Raghopur.

Satish Yadav was the outgoing JD-U legislator. He was denied a ticket by the party when the Raghopur seat was given to the RJD as per the seat sharing formula.

Satish Yadav had defeated Rabri Devi in 2010 by 63,000 votes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Lalu’s elder daughter Misa Bharti, a doctor by profession, unsuccessfully contested from Patliputra parliamentary seat in Patna.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here