Malegaon 2008 blasts: Sadhvi

Malegaon 2008 blasts: Sadhvi, three others dropped as accused

Mumbai, May 13 (IANS) The National Investigation Agency on Friday dropped the names of Sadhvi Pragnya Singh Thakur and four others as ‘accused’ in the September 2008 Malegaon blasts case, in its charge-sheet filed before a Special Court here.


The significant development will pave the way for a discharge and early release from jail for all these four accused from the sensitive case which had brought to fore the so-called ‘right-wing terror’ first time in the country.

Sadhvi, five others get clean chit in Malegaon bombing case 

Mumbai, May 13 (IANS) The National Investigation Agency (NIA) on Friday gave a clean chit and removed Sadhvi Pragnya Singh Thakur and five others from the list of the accused in the September 2008 Malegaon blasts case, paving the way for their early release from prison.

The sensitive Malegaon blast case had brought to fore the so-called “right-wing terror”, in which most of the accused were linked to Hindutva groups.

The Sadhvi’s lawyer Sanjiv Punalekar told IANS that the NIA decided to drop charges against her under the dreaded Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act (MCOCA) due to lack of sufficient evidence.

“The charges against Sadhvi Pragnya, Shyam Sahu, Shivnarain Kalsangra, Lokesh Shama, Dhan Singh Chouduhry and Pravin Mutalik have been dropped while the charge sheet is being filed against the other accused in the case,” Punalekar told IANS.

The NIA has also decided to drop MCOCA chagres against all the accused.

On September 29, 2008, two bombs planted on motorcycles exploded in Malegaon town, Nashik district, killing seven and injuring 80 others. It was later touted as the first terror case involving the hitherto unknown “Hindu extremists”.

The case was investigated by the then state Anti-Terrorist Squad chief Hemant Karkare, who was killed in the November 26, 2008, Mumbai terror attack. The Malegaon bombing case was later probed by the NIA.

The ATS had accused the Sadhvi of plotting the bombing. She was arrested on October 23 of that year.

Like the ATS, the NIA had earlier named 14 accused including Sahu, Kalsangra, Mutalik, Lt. Col. Prasad S. Purohit, Ramesh Upadhyay, Sudhakar Chaturvedi, Sameer Kulkarni, Rakesh Dhavade, Jagdish Mhatre, Sudhakar Dwivedi alias Dayanand Pandey and Ajay R. Rahirkar.

Two others — Ramchandra Kalsangra and Sandeep Dange, who are accused also in the Samjhauta Express blast of 2007 — were shown as “absconders”.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here