Mangaluru: District Congress Announces List of Candidates for Zilla Panchayat Elections

Mangaluru: District Minister In-charge Ramanath Rai held a press meet at the District congress office  to announce the  list of candidates for the Zilla Panchayat elections, here on February 5.
congress-press-meet-05-02-20169 congress-press-meet-05-02-20169-001 congress-press-meet-05-02-20169-002 congress-press-meet-05-02-20169-003 congress-press-meet-05-02-20169-004 congress-press-meet-05-02-20169-005 congress-press-meet-05-02-20169-006
The names of candidates were declared for 36 Zilla Panchayat constituencies in the district. The selection was made in the presence of observer V R Sudharshan and under the presidentship of District minister in-charge Ramanath Rai; Health and family welfare minister U T Khader; State sports, youth affairs and fisheries minister Abhaychandra Jain; MLAs J R Lobo,  Shakuntala  Shetty and Vasant  Bangera, MLC Ivan D’Souza, senior congress leaders Veerappa Moily and Oscar Fernandes under the guidance of chief minister Siddaramaiah and KPCC President and Home minister Dr G Parameshwar, able candidates were selected to contest the ZP elections.

The list of the candidates is as follows:

Pramod (Kinnigoli), Chandrahas Sanil (Puttige), Sumitra ( Shirtadi), ShailaSequeira (Kateel), Maimuna Nissar (Bajpe), Krishna Amin (Yedapadav), U P Ibrahim (Gurupur), Seema D’Souza (Neermarga), Rasheeda Banu (Konaje),Laxmi Poojary (Someshwar), Mayilappa Saliyan (Sangabettu), Padma ShekarJain (Sarapadi), Ummer Farooq (Pudu), Bharati R Poojary ( Goltamajal), ManjulaMadhava Bave (Mani), M S Mohammed (Kolnadu), Mamatha Gatti (Kurnadu),Chandraprakash Shetty ( Sajeepamunnur), Chetana ( Punacha), P DharanendraKumar (Naravi), Shekhar Kukkedi (Aladangadi), Shobha N Gowda (Layila),Namitha (Ujire), B Ramesh (Dharmastala), Shahul Hameed (Kaniyoor), Sharal GNoronha (Kuvettu), Anita Keshava Gowda (Uppinangadi), Sarvotham Gowda(Nelyadi), P P Varghes (Kadaba), Satish Kedanji (Belandoor), Pavitra B (Panaje), Anita Hemanath Shetty (Nettanige Mudnur), Rajeevi Rai (Bellare), VimalaRangayya (Guthigaru), Saraswati Kamath (Jalsur) and Madhava Gowda(Aranthodu).

Speaking on the occasion Observer Sudharshan said that we have selected the candidates based on their service to the party and their popularity in their respective constituencies. We have 4 sitting candidates out of the 36. All the selected candidates will file their nominations to contest the election. If anyone goes against the party principles or contests independently, action will be taken against them.

He further said that on February 6, the party workers meetings will be held in Mysuru, later meetings will be held in Gulbarga and Hubballi. On February 16 and 17, MLAs and MPs will campaign in all the districts.

Sudharshan also said that the Taluk Panchayat candidates lists will be released on February 8.  MUDA Chairman Ibrahim Kodijal,  MLA  Shakuntala  Shetty,    MLC Ivan D’Souza, Suresh Ballal  and others were also present.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here