Mangaluru: International Conference on Smart Materials and Technologies for Emerging Electronics at Sahyadri College

Mangaluru: Sahyadri College of Engineering held a Press Meet at the Press Club Urwa here on February 17.

Addressing the mediapersons, Dr Richard Pinto, Director-CENT, said, “An International Conference on Smart materials and Technologies for Emerging Electronics (IC-SMTEE-2016) jointly organized by the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Department of Communication Engineering and Center of Excellence in Nano-science and Technology (CENT) is scheduled to be held during February 19 and 20, 2016 at the Sahyadri College of Engineering & Management, Adyar, Mangalore.


The genesis of the conference dates back to the creation of CENT in April 2015 for carrying advanced research and development here at Sahyadri. Conferences are required for dissemination of knowledge and for exchange of scientific results among the researchers and experts. In this sense, organization of scientific conferences is a noble task; and as scientific history has shown, scientific conferences are essential for the advancement of science and technology.”

He further said, “This conference aims to review the advancement in novel materials and technologies which contribute for the growth of electronics and many other disciplines. The scope includes a variety of materials such as ferroelectrics, multiferroics, polymers, nanomaterials, organic materials and photonic materials. Scope also includes organic solar cells, CW terahertz photonics and novel technologies for advanced devices. Conference will comprise plenary/invited talks, oral and poster presentations. It is hoped that this international conference will provide a platform, both for specialists and research students, to present their latest results in the area of novel materials and technologies and also enhance R&D effort at Sahyadri College of Engineering & Management. The conference will end with a concluding session with brainstorming followed by a panel discussion with the theme of Nano-science and Technology.


The Conference will be inaugurated by Chief Guest Padma Shri Prof. R.M. Vasagam, Pro-Chancellor, Dr M G R Educational and Research Institute at 9:30 AM on February 19, 2016; The inaugural program will be graced by guests of honour Prof. Gottfried Döhler Max Planck Institute, Germany and Prof. K Byrappa Vice Chancellor, Mangalore University. Dr Manjunath Bhandary, Chairman, Dr Richard Pinto, Director-CENT and Dr U M Bhushi, Principal, Sahyadri College of Engineering & Management will be present during the inaugural session.

This will be followed by scientific and technical sessions both on February 19 and 20, 2016. There will be 18 invited lectures by renowned scientists from central institutes like Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai, IIT Bombay and there will be more than 50 research papers by researchers from all over India. The conference will have 5 theme sessions as follows: Session-1,. Materials and Devices; Session-2, Organic Photovoltaics; Session -3, THz Photonics; Session – 4, Materials and Techniques and Session -5, Concluding session. The conference will also have a Poster Session on February 19, 2016 in which nearly 50 research scholars will present their latest research findings.”

The invited speakers will include the following:

Prof. Siddhartha P Duttagupta, EE Dept., IITB, Mumbai – 400 076.
Prof. Manjunatha Pattabhi, Mangalore University.
Dr Rathishchandra R Gatti, SCEM, Mangalore.
Dr M S Jogad, Sharnbasveshwar College of Science,, Gulbarga.
Prof. K L Narasimhan, Professor, EE Dept., IITB, Mumbai – 400 076.
Prof. Dinesh Kabra, Physics Dept., IITB, Mumbai – 400 076.
Dr Vandana, Silicon Solar Cell Group, National Physical Laboratory New Delhi.
Prof. Gottfried Döhler, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Germany.
Prof. Shriganesh Prabhu, CMP & MS. Dept., TIFR, Mumbai.
Prof. Achanta Venugopal, CMP & MS. Dept., TIFR, Mumbai.
Dr Florian Sedlmeir, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Germany.
Dr Cijy Mathai, Physics Dept., IITB, Mumbai – 400 076.
Dr K Gopalakrishna Naik, Mangalore University.
Dr Somesh Chandra Gangulia, TIFR Mumbai.
Dr Rajesh Rai P, Principal, SSNIT, Kanhangad, Kerala.
Dr Shivakumar H.R, Vice Principal, KVG College of Engineering, Sullia.
Dr Navin N Bappalige, SCEM, Mangalore.

“We are pleased to state that in the absence of support from government funding agencies, companies have come forward to support this conference. The companies which have supported this conference are: Epsilon Carbon Pvt. Ltd., Integrated Clean Room Technologies Pvt. Ltd. Hyderabad, Laser Science Services (I) Pvt. Ltd. Mumbai, Specialize Instruments Marketing Company, Mumbai, iWave Systems Technologies Pvt. Ltd., Bengaluru, Omscientific Pvt. Ltd. Pune and Canara Bank, Mangalore”he added.

Dr. UM Bhushi (Principal),  Dr. D.L Prabhakara (Director) and Vasanth Kedige (Media Coordinator) were present at the press meet

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here