Mangaluru: Mangalore United committed to progress

Mangaluru: The Forum Fiza mall wore a festive look as the Karnataka State Cricket Association and Mangalore United Team unveiled the Karbonn Smart KPL 2015 Trophy and launched the team jersey at the Forum Fiza Mall here, on Sunday, 30 August.

Minister for Youth, Sports and Fisheries Abhaychandra Jain unveiled the glittering trophy and wished the Mangalore United team the very best in making efforts to regain it once again.

Addressing the gathering, Brijesh Patel, Secretary of KSCA said, “KPL was started in 2009 as our late president Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar felt that we should create a platform to promote talent. The tournament is a platform for untapped talent from the district. 50% of our state’s senior team is from the district.”

“Three years were lost when we were not at office and we were keen to revive the KPL when we came back. We have won the Ranji, Irani and Vijay Hazare titles back-to-back and we now have so much talent. What these boys required was a platform to perform and this is what we are making efforts to give through KPL.”

“We are seeking to make available the required facilities and infrastructure to the cricketers in the district. Travelling and staying away from home affects the performance of most players. It is our endeavour to ensure that the boys develop in their own environment and we are planning this on a one-by-one effort.”

Talking of the Mangalore United team, he said, “Mangalore United has a team of dedicated players in it. I would like to see the players give it their best and perform well, which will help them do well in forthcoming T20 World Cup. I wish them luck.”

The team retained star player, Karun Nair, who was chosen for the Sri Lanka tour after a fourth innings century against South Africa ‘A’ in a four-day contest for India ‘A’. He hammered a superb triple ton in the Ranji final against Chennai to help Karnataka retain the National Crown. He became the second Karnataka player to get a Triple ton after opening batsman K L Rahul had become the first earlier in the season. For their second player, Mangalore United retained speedster Ronit More and then picked offie Udit Patel, keeper-batsman Avinash KC and left-hander Sishir Bhavane.

“We looked keenly into every detail before choosing the team. We are very happy with the team this year. As a team, we are working really hard to bring home the trophy this year. We organised trials in our catchment area to encourage young cricketers, and we are hoping to have few matches in Mangaluru in the coming years”, said B M Farook, Chairman and Managing Director, Fiza Group.

“We are on the lookout for land in Mangaluru, where an amazing KSCA stadium can be built to help all aspiring cricketers in the coastal city. Mangaluru, which has good transportation facilities, offers a good opportunity for Dakshina Kannada, Uttara Kannada, Udupi and Kodagu catchment area players,” said Moideen Bava, MLA of Mangalore North Constituency and the Co-owner of Mangalore United.


Mangalore United owner Farookh Abdullah, Minister of State for Youth, Sports and Fisheries, Abhay Chandra Jain, Brijesh Patel, Hon, Secretary, KSCA, Co-Owner, Moinuddin Bhava and Hon. Asst. Secy. KSCA, Santosh Menon pose with the Karbonn Smart KPL IV Trophy after it was unveiled by the Honarable Minister at Fizza Mall in Mangalore on Sunday.

Mangalore United tasted success in the second edition of the Premier League and they are craving for that feeling again. Mangalore United have the best opportunity to clinch the crown if the players in their ranks play to their respective potentials.

Present at the event were Secretary of KSCA – Brijesh Patel, the team owners, Asst. Secretary Santosh Menon and team members.

Owners: B M Farook, Mohiuddin Bava
Chief Coach: S R Deepu
Manager: Praveen Kumar
Trainer: Mohit K
Physio: Vinod Jain
Video Analyst: Ganesh
Team: Karun Nair, Ronit More, Shishir Bavane, Udit Patel, Avinash K C, Syed Moinuddin, Pradeep T, Bharath B N, Rohit Sabharwal, Rohan Kadam, Mithrakanth Yadav, Nihalf Shilar, Arshdeep Singh Brar, Nishcith Raj

About FIZA Group: FIZA Group is an agile and well established group of companies focused on Renewable Energy sector over the last two decades. Fiza Group from its inception stands for clean and green energy supporting the cause of pollution free environment and sustaining ecological balance. The group has on its agenda, joining hands for achieving the targets set forth in VISION 2022 and to help fulfillment of the clean energy policy of the nation. It has made their presence felt in highly potential states like Karnataka, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh with its prestigious project.

About Karnataka State Cricket Association: The Karnataka State Cricket Association (formerly the Mysore Cricket Association) is committed to develop Karnataka as the premier cricketing state in the country. It aims to take the game to mofussil areas of the state for development at the grassroots level and to continuously promote the welfare of players. It was founded during the year 1933-34 and is affiliated to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The association made steady progress from 1934 to 1959 when the Silver Jubilee was celebrated to coincide with the visit of the Australian team to Bengaluru to play against the Combined Universities XI.

In the late sixties, the association acquired its own cricket ground and the stadium now known as the M Chinnaswamy Stadium came into being. Bengaluru became a Test Centre, and several memorable Tests and ODIs, including the 1996 World Cup quarter-finals, have taken place here. The Karnataka State Cricket Association has grown from strength to strength and today is one of the best-organized State Cricket associations in the Country.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here