Mangaluru: Nine Congress Members Expelled for Anti-party Activities

Mangaluru: All the mainstream parties in the state had faced rebellion and indiscipline in the recent zilla panchayat and taluk panchayat elections.

The story was not different in the coastal districts. Both the BJP and Congress had to contend with rebel candidates, as a result of which there were surprise results in some places.

The Congress party being the worst sufferer, now it has taken up disciplinary measures against those, who, being disgruntled over not being given tickets to contest, filed their nominations against the party’s official candidates or had worked for the rebels.

As the process began, Amir Ahmed Tumbe, who held the post of vice president of the KPCC labour cell, has been expelled from the primary membership of the party for six years.

He is said to have indulged in anti-party activities. This announcement has been made by Mudipu block Congress president Chandrahas Karkera.

In Beltangady taluk, eight persons have been expelled from the party, according to a joint statement from MLA Vasant Bangera, town block president K Harish Kumar and rural block president K Ramachandra Gowda.

The expelled members are Ishwara Baira who contested as independent from Aladangadi, Sunita Shridhar Poojary who contested as independent from Dharmasthala, Jacintha Monis for anti-party activities in Kuvettu and Laila, Shivananda Tenkakarandur for contesting as independent from ZP seat of Aladangadi, Dejappa Shetty Karimanelu, Rajesh Moodukodi, Lokayya Poojary and Jerome Lobo for supporting rival candidates.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here