Mangaluru: Posts of 217 DySPs Made Permanent in State – MLC Ivan D’Souza

Mangaluru: MLC Ivan D’Souza held a press meet at his office in the MCC premises here, on December 28.

Speaking to the mediapersons, he said that the posts of 217 inspectors serving as temporary Deputy Superintendent of Police (DySP) were made permanent by the Home Minister, Dr G Parameshwara. In the past 7-8 years, about 300 inspectors in the State of Karnataka had been promoted temporarily to the rank of DySP. “From several years, they are serving the state with this temporary rank and this has caused a lot of inconvenience to the officers and others as well,” he said.


3-ivan-dsouza-press-20151228-002 2-ivan-dsouza-press-20151228-001 1-ivan-dsouza-press-20151228

Ivan said that according to rule number 32 in KCSR, certain cases pertaining to women, SC/ST and corruption, are to be investigated by an officer of the rank of DySP or higher. Since a DySP rank can be given only to an officer who has undergone a special training of two years, many inspectors have thus been promoted to the rank of DySP temporarily.

“The investigation done by these officers can be challenged in the court and if the officer is not a permanent DySP, the entire case can fail. Further when a temporary DySP is retired, he will retire as an Inspector and not as a Deputy Superintendent of Police, even if he has fulfilled the duty of a DySP for a long time,” Ivan said.

Ivan had previously notified the government about this issue by exercising the provision under rule 72 in the Vidhana Parishad. Reflecting on this notification, the Home Ministry had passed the order to promote the Inspectors permanently on December 17.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here