Mangaluru: Sadananad Suvarna Chosen Honorary Prez of ‘Sahabaalve Saagara’ Reception Committee

Mangaluru: ‘SahabaaLve Saagara’, a national convention of like-minded individuals hailing from different strata of society and professions and representing a number of organizations is scheduled to be held in the town hall here on January 30. The convention focuses on peaceful and harmonious co-existence as the ethos of the country.


Sadanand Suvarna, an award-winning theatre personality based in the city, has been chosen the honorary president of the reception committee constituted for the convention. Dr Srinivas Kakkillaya is the working president.

Suvarna has been one of the most creative personalities in the contemporary theatre and silver screen scenario. Born in Mulki in 1931, he, after his formal education, continued his studies in Mumbai. Taking up different jobs to make a living, he held his fort in the mechanical and routine life in the commercial capital.

Making his mark in the world of theatre, he rose to make his mark as an actor, director, stage personality, writer, publisher and organizer. Some years ago, he came back to his roots and settled down in Mangaluru. His energy and enthusiasm at 85 could put any youngster to shame.

Some most remembered plays produced and directed by him include ‘UruLu’ (The Noose), ‘Court Martial’, ‘MaLe ninta mele (After the rain stopped), ‘Kalenk-di neer’ (The muddled water) and ‘GuDDeda boota’. He has won awards for creations on the silver screen as well as the small screen.

He has a number of stage-plays – original and translated – to his credit. He also has a collection of stories and a novel in published form. He has given many value-based art movies like Swarna Kamal-winning ‘Ghatashraaddha’ directed by Girish Kasaravalli, and national award-winning ‘Tabarana Kate’. ‘Mane’ and ‘Kraurya’. Some of the movies he made have won state awards and have had the privilege of being screened in international film festivals.

His documentaries like ‘Karantha Darshana’, ‘Shri Narayana Guru’ and ‘TuLunaDu, ondu iNuku noTa’ have received rave reviews. Among the other honours he has won are Kannada Rajyotsava award, Karnataka Tulu Sahitya Academy award of honour and Karnataka Nataka Academy’s ‘Karnataka Shri’ award.

What stands out among Suvarna’s traits are his simple, soft-spoken and amiable nature. Being a progressive thinker and a great humanist, he has stayed away from personal publicity and shunned self-glorification, caste bias and blind beliefs.

The theme

The event on Jan 30 will commemorate Mahatma Gandhi’s death anniversary. Rallies named after the beautiful rivers of the state – Netravati, Malaprabha, Sharavati, Sita, Bhadra, Shambavi, Kaveri, Sauparnika,Shalmala, Kumaradhara, Phalguni, Kali and Krishna – arriving from different parts of the state will converge in the city on that day.

Some eminent persons scheduled to take part are Yogendra Yadav of Swaraj Abhiyan – Delhi, senior human rights activist Teesta Setalvad, journalist Gauri Lankesh, advocate A K Subbaiah and many other social and religious leaders with progressive orientation.

Invitation and poster

The official invitation to the convention and its poster will be released by retired principal and author Chandrakala Nandavara at a gathering in front of the office of the deputy commissioner in Mangaluru at 4 pm on Monday, January 25.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here