Modi congratulates Special Olympics medal winners

Mumbai,  (IANS) Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday congratulated all participants and medal winners who made India proud by winning 173 medals at the Special Olympic World Summer Games 2015 in Los Angeles.

“Achievements of Indian contingent at @LA2015 @SpecialOlympics are truly gladdening. They are India’s pride,” Modi tweeted.

“The @LA2015 @SpecialOlympics were a triumph of determination, hardwork & sportsman spirit. Congratulations to all athletes who participated,” he tweeted.

The performance by the Indian contingent has been outstanding.

Athletes won 173 medals — 47 gold, 54 silver and 72 bronze.

India had won 156 medals — 56 gold, 48 silver and 52 bronze — in the last edition of the games held in Athens, Greece.

The Games were held in Los Angeles from July 25 to August 2. It had competitions in 25 disciplines.

The Indian contingent comprised 275 athletes and coaches in 14 disciplines.

Some of the outstanding performances by Indian athletes include that by Ranvir Singh Saini, who created history by becoming the first Indian golfer to win a gold medal.

Roller skating athletes won 39 medals — 10 gold, 17 silver and 12 bronze.

A contingent of specially-abled people from the Delhi government-run Asha Kiran Home won 7 medals — 3 gold and 4 bronze.

Phoolan Devi won the first gold for India in power-lifting (bench press). She also won three bronze medals in power-lifting (all lifts, dead-lift and squat lift), while Sonakshi won a bronze in power-lifting (bench press).

Indian athletes won 47 medals in athletics, which was the main contribution to the medal’s tally.


Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here