Modi govt courts controversy by discontinuing Indira Gandhi stamps

New Delhi (dhns): The NDA government’s move to discontinue postage stamps featuring former prime ministers Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi has triggered a fresh controversy.

The Congress has condemned the decision, accusing the government of trying to revise and rewrite India’s legacy of service and sacrifice.


The Congress’s hard-hitting statement against the government’s move was revealed in a RTI reply.

“People of this country will not let this government get away with the lowly politics of revenge,” Randeep Singh Surjewala, in-charge of the AICC communication department, said. Union Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar dismissed the Congress’s charges saying the government merely expanded the list of leaders who feature in the Rs-5 postage stamps issued by the Department of Posts.

“We have merely expanded the list of leaders from five to 25. Now leaders such as Jayprakash Narayan, Deendayal Upadhyay, Ram Manohar Lohia, Shyamaprasad Mookerjee, Chhatrapati Shivaji, Bhimsen Joshi, Bismillah Khan, M S Subbulakshmi will also feature on the Rs-5 stamp,” he said.

Surjewala also said the Modi government replaced the names of two awards – Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Puraskar and Rajiv Gandhi Rashtriya Gyan-Vigyan Maulik Pustak Lekhan Puraskar by removing the names of the former prime ministers. The central government had sparked controversy earlier as well by renaming government schemes eulogising the Nehru-Gandhi dynasty.

The government’s move to give a ‘contemporary’ look to the iconic Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, featuring the achievements of the Modi government, has also annoyed the Congress.

1 Comment

  1. This steps should have been taken a long time back, the fake Gandhi family only does not hold the copy right for ever thing
    There were lot of other better leaders who hold great legacy in India’s freedom struggle who also deserve better.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here