Motorsports: Double for Kutty, Bikkani, Aryan

Coimbatore, June 21 (IANS) Mumbai’s Fahad Kutty of Team Game Over survived a chaotic outing marked by on-track incidents to achieve a double in the Indian Junior Touring Cars class as did Abhinay Bikkani (Super Stock) from Bengaluru in the third round of the MMSC FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship at the Kari Motor Speedway here on a windy and wet Sunday.

Also achieving a double was Mohit Aryan, winner of the first race on Saturday in the Formula LGB 1300 class. Aryan took the honours in the second race run on Sunday and finished fourth in the third race which Chetan Korata topped.

Meanwhile, Karthik Tharani Singh held off a charging Goutham Parekh and Arjun Narendran to win a brilliant MRF Formula Ford 1600 Race-2. Earlier in the day, Parekh took advantage of starting in pole position to win Race 1 with 18-year old Tejas Ram taking his first podium by finishing an impressive second ahead of Tharani.

Karthik continues to lead the championship with 120 points, albeit by just one point from Parekh with Narendran a further 17 behind in third place.

Kutty, who had won the first race on Saturday but received a 10-place grid penalty for a technical infringement which pushed him to 14th on the reverse grid, held his nerve to notch his second success of the weekend. The race was marred by collisions on the tricky Turn-2 before a spell of sharp showers forced a closure after 10 of the scheduled 12 laps.

Bikkani too drove a fine race to claim his second win in the Super Stock class that was run on the same grid as the IJTC, after coming through the dramatic on-track incidents that several cars badly dented.

In contrast, the Indian Touring Cars (ITC) race turned out to be a one-horse affair with championship leader Narendran of Red Rooster Racing literally destroying all opposition despite two safety car periods. The scheduled second race was cancelled as the ITC cars were running on slicks which were not conducive to the wet track.

Parekh started on pole position alongside Chetan Korada with MRF wet tyres fitted on for the first time this season. Parekh held on to the lead with Narendran in second and Tejas Ram in third place with visibility at a very low level.

Narendran had a spin at the back of the circuit and dropped fourth place. As the rain eased, Parekh pulled away to take his second win of the season. Tejas finished in second place ahead of Karthik, who had a lonely race in third.

In the second race, Karthik, starting from second position, jumped reverse grid pole sitter Narendran and lead into the first corner. Parekh and Tejas battled for third place and exchanged positions thrice before Parekh got back ahead and went after the top two.

With four laps to go and two laps to go, Parekh passed Narendran. However, Karthik did a brilliant job to hold off Parekh by 0.155secs to win with Narendran and Tejas in third and fourth places respectively. The top four drivers were covered by two seconds.

The results (Provisional):

Formula LGB 1300 (Race -2, 12 laps): Mohit Aryan (Anish Racing) 1 (14:53.908); Sudanand Rajan (Anish Racing) 2 (14:57.917); Chetan Korada (Wallace Sports) 3 (14:58.610). Race-3 (12 laps): Chetan Korada 1 (15:47.979); Sudanand Rajan (15:52.006) 2; Raghul Ramasamy (Wallace Sports) 3 (15:59.434).

Indian Touring Cars (Race 1, 12 laps): Arjun Narendran (Red Rooster Racing) 1 (16:55.977); Ashish Ramaswamy (Red Rooster Racing) 2 (16:59.648); Deepak Paul Chinnappa (Race Concepts) 3 (17:00.059).

Indian Junior Touring Cars (Race-2, 10 laps): Fahad Kutty (Team Game Over) 1 (14:47.223); Biren Pithawalla (Team N1) 2 (14:49.787); Rohit VRR (Rohit VRR) 3 (14:54.112).

Super Stock (Race-2, 10 laps): Abhinay Bikkani (Race Concepts) 1 (15:11.890); Varun Anekar (Race Concepts) 2 (15:17.642 a” incl 10sec penalty); Chandresh N Tolia (Team Game Over) 3 (15:21.893).

MRF FF1600 (Race 1 – 14 laps): Goutham Parekh (Chennai) 1 (16:46.332); CS Tejasram (Chennai) 2 (16:53.157); Karthik Tharani Singh (Chennai) 3 (16:54.927). Race-2: Karthik Tharani Singh (17:55.527) 1; Goutham Parekh (17:55.682) 2; Arjun Narendran (Coimbatore) (17:57.555).


Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here