MSK Prasad named new chairman of selectors….

MSK Prasad named new chairman of selectors, Shirke re-elected as BCCI secretary 

Mumbai, Sep 21 (IANS) Former India wicketkeeper M.S.K. Prasad was appointed as the new chairman of selectors while Ajay Shirke was retained unopposed as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary at its 87th Annual General Meeting (AGM) here on Wednesday.

No other nominations were received for the BCCI’s secretary’s post. The AGM was chaired by BCCI President Anurag Thakur.

Shirke became the secretary in July after Thakur was elevated to the president’s post, vacated by Shashank Manohar who quit BCCI to become the International Cricket Council (ICC) chairman. He is also chief of the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA).

A new five-member selection panel was formed, headed by Prasad (South Zone), which also included former off-spinner Sarandeep Singh (North Zone), ex-batsmen Gagan Khoda (Central Zone), Devang Gandhi (East Zone) and Jatin Paranjpe (West Zone).

Gandhi, Paranjpe and Singh were the new additions to the panel. Prasad, who was part of the earlier selection panel, replaced Sandeep Patil as its chairman.

He played six Tests and 17 One-dayers for India between 1998 and 2000, having made his international debut against Bangladesh in an ODI in 1998.

He played his first Test against New Zealand in 1999. In 2000, however, he was dropped from India’s Test squad and did not play international cricket again.

He featured in 96 first-class matches, amassing 4,021 runs at an average of 27.73 and claimed 266 dismissals. He also scored 1,719 runs in 88 List A games.

The 41-year-old was appointed the Andhra Pradesh captain for the 2007-08 Ranji Trophy season.

He announced his retirement from the game in 2008 and later served as Andhra Cricket Association’s director for six years.

The Guntur-born became a national selector in 2015. He has also served as selector for the India U-19 team.

Former India pacer, Venkatesh Prasad was retained as the chairman of the junior national team’s selection committee. Ashish Kapoor and Amit Sharma were added to the junior selection committee.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here