New chief justices in Tripura, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan

New Delhi/Agartala, May 11 (IANS) Justice Tinlianthang Vaiphei of the Guwahati High Court will be the new acting Chief Justice of the Tripura High Court.

He will replace Chief Justice Deepak Kumar Gupta, who has been transferred as the Chief Justice of the Chhattisgarh High Court, an official said here on Wednesday.

An official release of union law ministry said that Justice Navin Sinha, Chief Justice of the Chhattisgarh High Court has been moved as the Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court.

An official of the Tripura law department said that Justice Vaiphei, 60, would assume office on May 16.

Separate High Courts were set up in Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya in 2013. Earlier the states were under the jurisdiction of the Guwahati High Court which was the common high court for all the northeastern states.

“Separate high courts are likely to be set up in Mizoram, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh after the constructions of the necessary infrastructure,” a ministry statement said.

The statement said that Justice Ved Prakash Vaish of the Delhi High Court has been transferred to Meghalaya, while Justice Satish Kumar Agnihotri of the Madras High Court has been shifted to Sikkim.

The president has directed all the chief justices and judges to assume charge on or before May 23.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here