New Sri Lankan government sworn in

Colombo, Sep 4 (IANS) Sri Lanka’s new national unity government took oath on Friday before President Maithripala Sirisena.

Sri Lanka’s new cabinet consists of 42 ministers after parliamentary approval was obtained to appoint more ministers than the 30 approved by the country’s constitution, Xinhua news agency reported.

Sri Lanka’s United National Party (UNP) led by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, which won the August 17 parliamentary election, agreed to join hands with the opposition United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) to form a national government in the island nation and work together in parliament for the next two years.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here