New Year welcomed with multi-faith prayers in Nevada

In a remarkable interfaith gesture, various religions got together in Reno (Nevada, USA) to celebrate the ringing in of the New Year at midnight in a unique and divine manner, away from the glitter of the casinos and sending a message of unity to the world.

Coordinated by distinguished religious statesman Rajan Zed, standing room only “Multi-faith New Year’s Eve Service” hosted by Reno Buddhist Center included Christian, Muslim, Hindu, Buddhist, Jewish, Baha’i and Native American prayers.

Religious leaders who prayed included United Church of Christ pastor James Kosko, Abdul Raheem Barghouti of Muslim community, Buddhist priests Matthew T. Fisher and Shelley L. Fisher, Jewish rabbi ElizaBeth Webb Beyer, Hindu leader Rajan Zed, Monique Jacobs of Roman Catholic Diocese, Baha’i teacher Kaitie R. Lighthart and American Indian spirituality scholar Brian E. Melendez. In addition, Taiko drumming ensemble Tsurunokai Taiko directed by Rieko Shimbo delivered Japanese festival piece Chichibu Yatai-bayashi; Jim R. Eaglesmith sang multi-faith musical medley; Spirit Singers headed by Leslie Alice Fudge performed “Dona Nobis Pacem”; while Laurie Martin lead a team of drummers.

There was no “cover charge” for this Service where all were welcome and which ended with drum beats and ringing of bells. Guests signed a banner with a pledge for peace, love and unity in 2016.

Prayers were a more appropriate way to welcome the New Year to our lives than gambling and drinking in the casinos and bars. Moreover, despite our seriously different faith traditions, diverse religions coming together in prayer and community sent a message of love, hope and harmony for 2016 world; Rajan Zed, who is President of Universal Society of Hinduism, pointed out on the occasion.

Multi-faith New Year's Eve Service 2015-2016

Some of the religious leaders & others who participated in this Service, from left to right, are: ElizaBeth Webb Beyer, James Kosko, Monique Jacobs, Brian E. Melendez, Kaitie R. Lighthart, Shelley L. Fisher, Rieko Shimbo, Rajan Zed, Abdul Raheem Barghouti, Jim R. Eaglesmith, Cathy Riordan and Matthew T. Fisher.

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here