New Member: sandra sequeira, UK | Join Now! |

Feb 14, 2016

Qatar Toastmasters Annual Conference Held

Published Date: 09 May, 2008 (9:58 PM)

By Iqbal Manna, Team Mangalorean Qatar

Doha May 6, 2008: Qatar Toastmasters Annual Conference 2008 (QTAC 2008) was conducted on a grand scale on Friday the 2nd May 2008 at the Regency Hall in the presence of a large audience of dignitaries, invitees and toastmasters from all clubs in Qatar. All toastmasters clubs in Doha belong to Division E of District 79 from Toastmasters International in USA. Contests were conducted in Humorous, Table Topic, International Speech and Evaluation categories. Winners of the first 3 categories would move to the District Annual Toastmasters Conference (DTAC) to be held in Bahrain in end of May 2008, where they will compete with the best in the region. Last year DTAC 2007 was held in Doha and was well attended by all toastmasters of the region.

QTAC 2008 was opened by M.I. Farid the current Division Governor of Division E, who welcomed all and thanked the sponsors. The District Governor Phillip D'Mello flew from Bahrain to attend this event and graced the occasion. Vijaya Monterio was the Master of Ceremonies and conducted the event in an exceptional manner. S. Kumar Naidu, conducted the International contest and the Table Topics contest was conducted by Venkatesh Rao. Chief judges were Shoaib Kassem, and  Ram Mohan Rai for those events.

International Speech Contest Winners with dignitaries. (Left to Right), Mr.Liaqat Amin Satti, Mr.Sonny Varghese, Dr. Shaukat Chandana, Mr.Phillip D'Mello, Mr. Koka Prasad (Ist Placed Winner), Mr.Yogeendra Desai (IInd Placed Winner), Mr.Mohammed Al Hayder (IIIrd Placed Winner) & Mr. M. I. Farid.

The International speech contest saw 5 inspirational speeches of the highest standard and the judges had a hard time in selecting the winner, as all 5 contestants were equally good. Atul Srivastava spoke on "Voice of Struggle" and how he was able to overcome those difficulties. Yogendra Desai's speech on "listen to your heart" with his own personal experience received the 2nd place in this category. Cyril Anand spoke on "Power of Decision" by explaining how a crucial decision taken would effect rest of your life, with examples of a how a Pilot making a crucial decision while he tries to land a damaged air craft and the decisions taken in his own personal life. The only Qatari contestant Mohammed Al-Hyder made a speech on "Make the Difference" and explained how a young boy made a difference for his entire community by his keep going and never give up attitude, which gave him the 3rd place in the International speech category. Koka Prasad's speech on "Life's Lessons" and how to bound back from life gave him the 1st place in the category, as he highlighted that harder you fall, better you  bounce back.

The Key note Speech of Dr. Shaukat Chandana PhD, Managing Director of Qatar Center for Career Development, was an excellent motivational speech, which was well received by all. He stated that he was sharing his views and experiences and not trying to teach which was done in an exceptional manner. Dr. Shaukat highlighted that it's important to have an IMAGE for one self, and describe image in details under Initiative, Momentum, Attitude, Grace and Energy. He continued by saying that it's important to follow your Image with ACTION.

Table Topics Contest Winners with dignitaries. (Left to Right) Mr.Liaqat Amin Satti, Mr.Sonny Varghese, Dr. Shaukat Chandana, Mr.Phillip D'Mello, Mr. Yogeendra Desai (Ist Placed Winner), Ms Layla Saad (IInd Placed Winner), Mr.Mantha Srinivas (IIIrd Placed Winner) and Mr. M. I. Fraid.







The 5 contestants for the Table Topic contests Layla Saad, Sunderasan Subramanium, Joyce Alvares , Yogendra Desai and Mantha Srinivas spoke on "Do leaders need to be Charismatic or Intellectuals". They had to speak on their feet and all contestants spoke on the topic supporting their arguments with quotes, stories and personal experiences showing their talents. Yogeendra Desai won the 1st price for Table Topic contest while the 2nd place went to Layla Saad and the 3rd place was taken by Mantha Srinivas.

Falcon awards were distributed for Division E clubs for best Toastmaster, best website, best news letter, most improved toast masters club, best toastmasters club and best leader. Atiya Farid from ICC-ONE toastmasters club was awarded as the best toastmaster of the year 2008, while ICC-ONE toastmasters club was awarded with 3 major awards best toastmasters club, best website, best news letter. Vijaya Monteiro was named as the best leader of the year 2008. Q-Tel toastmasters club was selected as the most improved club of the year 2008.

District Governor Phillip D'Mello addressed the gathering and expressed his gratitude for inviting him for this event. He invited all toastmasters from Doha for the DTAC (District Toastmasters Annual Conference) to be held in Bahrain 4th week of May 2008.
Finally 10 lucky winners were chosen from raffle draw and awards were distributed to them including Mobile phones.

The Co-sponsors were Starlink and Qatar Gas, while Qatar Islamic bank, Doha bank, Pallonji, Velosi and Home center were the Associate sponsors. The event concluded with a dinner.      

 Comment on this article
Name: Country:
Security code: Security code   Reload Image
Enter code:   (shown above)
Sanjay Sharma, Saudi Arabia May 8, 2008
Congrats to all. Mr. Yogibhai Desai Keep it up, as you were doing in Riyadh. Good Luck.
Thanks and God Bless.
Sanjay Sharma

Privacy  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Tell your Friend  |  Contact Us  |  Join Us  |  Home    
Site designed and maintained by Mangalore Media Company