NRSS protests with Black Flags against DVS, Moily

NRSS protests with Black Flags against DVS and Veerappa Moily

Mangaluru: Members of the Netravati Rakshana Samyukta Samiti (NRSS) staged a protest and carried a demonstration with black flags against D V Sadananda Gowda and Veerappa Moily in front of the Town Hall here, on June 11.

Protesters marched in a procession holding black flags from the premises of the Mini Vidhana Soudha to the Town Hall. They shouted slogans against the Central Minister for Law and Justice D V Sadananda Gowda and the MP of Chikballapur constituency Veerappa Moily, and demanded the withdrawal of the Yettinahole project. D V Sadananda Gowda and Veerappa Moily were supposed to attend the decennial of V4 Channel at Town Hall, but they did not attend the programme.

image001nrss-protest-20160611-001 image002nrss-protest-20160611-002 image003nrss-protest-20160611-003 image004nrss-protest-20160611-004 image005nrss-protest-20160611-005

Speaking to the mediapersons, president of NRSS Vijay Kumar Shetty said, “We do not want to spoil any programme which is organized by a news channel but as we got the news that Sadananda Gowda and Veerappa Moily are the guests we thought that this is the right time to demonstrate against them by waving black flags. When they became aware of our planned protest, both did not attend the programme. In the future too, we will not allow DVS and Moily to attend any programmes in Mangaluru.” He also urged all organizations in the district to not entertain the two politicians to any of their programmes.

Vijay Kumar further said that it is not too late. “Even now, DVS and Moily can convince the government and withdraw the project. If the project will not be withdrawn, they will not be allowed to enter Mangaluru,” he warned.

image006nrss-protest-20160611-006 image007nrss-protest-20160611-007

image001special-adalat-mini-vidhana-soudha-th-20160611-001 image008nrss-protest-20160611-008 image009nrss-protest-20160611-009

Satyajit Suratkal said, “Since this is a private function, we have agitated symbolically. Getting afraid of our protest, the district minister in-charge Ramanath Rai, Sadananda Gowda, Veerappa Moily and U T Khader did not attend the programme. In the coming days, if they attend programmes in the district, we will demonstrate with black flags.”

“All the leaders have understood that this project is not right. DVS, Moily and Ramanath Rai are not blaming each other for the Yettinahole project because all the three have benefited from it,” said M G Hegde, urging all organizations to ban DVS and Moily and to not invite them to any programmes in the district. “If they are invited, we will speak against such organizations too,” he warned.


image001nrss-protest--20160611-001 image011nrss-protest-20160611-011 image012nrss-protest-20160611-012

image002nrss-protest--20160611-002 image003nrss-protest--20160611-003 image004nrss-protest--20160611-004 image013nrss-protest-20160611-013

Jithendra Kottari said that until and unless the project is not stopped, NRSS will not allow DVS and Moily to attend any programme in the district. “We are protesting against the project. Those who support this project, be it Rai, Khader, DVS or Moily, this is a warning bell for them. They have lost the moral right to take part in any programmes in the district. DVS and Moily should convince the Chief Minister and stop the project. If the project will not be stopped, we will intensify our protest.”

State Convener of Paschima Ghatta Samrakshana Horata Samiti K N Somashekar said that Yettinahole is a huge scam and this project is a front to loot money. “As many as 173 projects which were implemented have failed; this is a scam of Rs 2.5 lakh crore. There is no scientific study for this project. This is a money making project and nothing else! This is not limited to DK or Kolar since they have failed in managing the water supply system. This will not be a successful project. There are many employees within KNNL (Karnataka Neeravari Nigam Limited) who are against this project and have been harassed by higher authorities leading to resignation by some employees,” he alleged.

image014nrss-protest-20160611-014 image015nrss-protest-20160611-015

Harikrishna Bantwal, Sharan Pumpwell, Jerald Towers, Dinakar Shetty, Yogesh Jeppu and other leaders were also present.

Click Here for Photo Album


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!

The opinions, views, and thoughts expressed by the readers and those providing comments are theirs alone and do not reflect the opinions of or any employee thereof. is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by the readers. Responsibility for the content of comments belongs to the commenter alone.  

We request the readers to refrain from posting defamatory, inflammatory comments and not indulge in personal attacks. However, it is obligatory on the part of to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments to the concerned authorities upon their request.

Hence we request all our readers to help us to delete comments that do not follow these guidelines by informing us at Lets work together to keep the comments clean and worthful, thereby make a difference in the community.

Please enter your name here